Crystal Hell Pool / Domain
Album: Domain   Collection:General
Artist:Crystal Hell Pool   Added:Jan 2012
Label:Debacle Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-10-14 Pull Date: 2012-12-16 Charts: Electronic, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Nov 25 Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 22, 2012: The Deadly Tango
4. Nov 03, 2012: Music Casserole
2. Nov 08, 2012: late night dryer
After Image
5. Oct 31, 2012: Catharsis
Debris, Visionaire
3. Nov 05, 2012: Late Night Dryer
Abandonded Gates
6. Oct 23, 2012: Ghost Trees

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-10-13
Very chill, groovy “morbid disco” from the prolific Debacle label. It’s all oscillating, gothic industrial beats whispered under narcotic synth modulations, with the right touch of self-awareness to make the cheesy parts endearing. Sounds a bit like an old-school Nintendo soundtrack possessed by demons. Remember that weird cyberpunk kid from high school who didn’t seem to understand that no one looks good with a mustache and rat-tail? Well, he’s cranking out some damn good music, but now he knows he’s a loser. Not a single fuck given. No FCCs. Play any of these fantastic tracks now.
RIYL Herbie Hancock’s godawful hit song “Rockit” (yeah, that one), Megabats, James Ferraro on his most dusted days

1. (2:41) chilled-out throbbing layers of spandex-laden synth
2. (2:33) swirling, hypnotic melody hovering in the ether with a pulsating subterranean beat
3. (2:46)* driving, subtle beat of echoing sixteenth notes with some sparse hallucinogenic synth wanderings
4. (3:08) carefree coked-out disco jam, light airy synths with more head-nodding drum machine grooves
5. (3:30) mellowed-out repetitive pulse with some dreamy ambient layers
6. (2:18) dark, industrial, beat-driven
7. (1:48) robot goth disco—sounds like a washing machine has come to life and started bustin’ moves
8. (3:10) gentle lullaby ambient stuff with some vague recollections of a beat. Like getting a happy ending from a masseuse in Tron.
9. (2:00) another robot dance party
10. (2:50) an even groovier robot dance party, this might even prompt Robocop and Calculon into a dance-off
11. (3:27)* sparse, abstract, drifting off into space with the slow rhythmic lull of a broken dryer

Track Listing
1. Zentrum   6. Radioactive Cop
2. Life In Silence   7. Disembodied Features
3. Visionaire   8. Abandonded Gates
4. Debris   9. Systems 1987
5. Strange Place And Time   10. After Image
  11. Melting Face, Melting Hands