Amad-Jamal / Barely Hanging On: The Chronicles Of A Brotha Like Rodney King
Album: Barely Hanging On: The Chronicles Of A Brotha Like Rodney King   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Amad-Jamal   Added:Dec 2011
Label:Urban Umpires  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-02-12 Pull Date: 2012-04-15 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: Mar 25 Mar 18 Mar 11 Feb 26 Feb 19
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 02, 2018: MHz broadcast 09.02.18
On Point F/Doc One
4. Oct 31, 2016: Everything A to Z week 65
Outro, Get Peace F/Dirty Twan & Gotham Green, Interlude #1
2. Apr 15, 2018: MHz broadcast 04.15.18
Boy Meets Girl
5. Sep 01, 2014: Happy Hour
Stop F***** Around F/Maaya Ota Aka Lady Dragon
3. Mar 11, 2018: MHz broadcast: 03.11.18
On Point F/Doc One
6. Jul 14, 2013: MHz
Beautiful Hardcore

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-02-08
Amad-Jamal's long awaited release "Barely Hanging On: The Chronicles of a Brotha Like Rodney King" brings you into a in-depth political and creative journey. Features a number of production collaborations from Brisk One (1200 Hobos), DJ Dahi, to even the mastering from DJ Icewater (Berkeley / East Bay). Overall, very powerful production featuring guest appearances by: Defari, Dilated Peoples, Doc One, Lady Dragon, to Dirty Twan & Gotham Green. Although the release is a Radio Edit, track 2 has a NON-FCC lyric.
Recommended tracks: 4, 7, 10, 11, 13, & 15 (personal favorite)

1. No-music - Short documentary style intro
2. Big Red drum break over a electronic-synthetic beat. NON-FCC "… fuck that" @ :46.
3. Beat Box intro. Boom-Bap transitions. Whaling vocal sampling.
4. Mid-tempo beat. Excellent piano sampling and lyrical flow from Dilated Peoples. Recommended.
5. Dark sounding gospel vocals and slow beats.
6. Melodic / trip-hop influence. Dark / synthetic guitar breaks. Fast change-ups on drum breaks.
7. Mellow production. Nice. head-nodding beats and the lyrical flow. Rich sounding keyboards. Recommended.
8. Nice female vocals in the chorus hooks. Mid-tempo rhythm. Nice overlaying of sampling. Track focusses on Lady Dragon's vocal talent.
9. Melodic / mid-tempo rhythm. Cleaver breaks and change-ups. Doc One provides an excellent cypher.
10. Neo-Soul / early Black Starr / Talib Kweli sounding production.Recommended.
11. Mid-tempo rhythm. Dark sounding keyboards. Sharp sounding breaks. Recommended.
12. Theatrical 70's light-rock sounding track over a slow drum beat. Eclectic sounding piano and strings sampling.
13. Funky sounding and upbeat track. Defari's lyric is very strong in delivery on this track. Recommended
14. No-music. Super short interview filler.
15. Classic 70's Motown influence. Head-nodding drum beats and lyrical flow.Very nice production.Recommended.
16. No-music. Kid and mom saying "Good Night" to different types of people.

Track Listing
1. Intro   9. On Point F/Doc One
2. We   10. Boy Meets Girl
3. Rodney King   11. Spread Love F/D.U.
4. Believe That F/Dilated Peoples   12. Hood Tales F/Mean Green
5. Goin' Postal   13. Regardless F/Defari
6. Beautiful Hardcore   14. Interlude #1
7. The Pros F/Doc One   15. Get Peace F/Dirty Twan & Gotham Green
8. Stop F***** Around F/Maaya Ota Aka Lady Dragon   16. Outro