Lijadu Sisters, The / Danger
Album: Danger   Collection:General
Artist:Lijadu Sisters, The   Added:Dec 2011
Label:Knitting Factory, the  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-02-18 Pull Date: 2012-04-21
Week Ending: Apr 22 Apr 15 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 18 Mar 11 Mar 4 Feb 26
Airplays: 2 2 1 1 2 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 22, 2022: The Doghouse
Cashing In
4. Nov 13, 2013: Fried Egg
2. Feb 08, 2022: Butter in the Pan
5. Apr 21, 2012: New World Disorder
3. Mar 12, 2016: Music Casserole
Cashing In
6. Apr 16, 2012: No Longer at Ease
Life's Gone Down Low, Danger

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2012-02-11
Knitting Factory records dumps this recording on us from Nigeria, 1976. Killer psyche fuzzy guitar leads permeate simple pop with dual female vocals sung with an accent. Low fi recording, nearly hard panned guitar, vocs distort in places, so genuine and beautiful. Sort of an Ethiopiques meets Cambodian rocks in a psyche love den. I hesitate to use the term afropop cuz Fela Kuti comes so quickly to mind and this has little to do with that. Really great stuff. Fans of all things Cambodian Rocks, Ethiopiques do not want to miss this. Great liner notes for the near sighted.

1) (5:53) upbeat fun pop, takes a second to cut through their accent saying “Danger!”, psyche fuzz guitar, cool jazzy keys, way too groovy
2) (4:06) slower 60’s minor chord progression, swinging ballady, relentless fuzzy guitar leads
3) (4:57) slower, bordering on a dubby feel
4) (6:03) bring on the funkay wah wah pedal! Ooh yeah, full on funk love storm
5) (4:29) reggae tune (Sadie? Heads up!)
6) (7:08) slow pleading to some lord for mercy, sad stuff, very sad lyrics, organ and guitar, ocean sounds (probably white noise feature on organ) really great

Track Listing
1. Danger   4. Cashing In
2. Amebo   5. Bobby
3. Life's Gone Down Low   6. Lord Have Mercy