Spectrals / Bad Penny
Album: Bad Penny   Collection:General
Artist:Spectrals   Added:Nov 2011
Label:Slumberland Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-11-27 Pull Date: 2012-01-29
Week Ending: Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 24, 2012: the gilded youth
Many Happy Returns
4. Jan 03, 2012: Madam Psychosis
Doing Time
2. Jan 17, 2012: the gilded youth
Get A Grip
5. Dec 30, 2011: UpDownUnderStairs
Get A Grip
3. Jan 10, 2012: Madame Psychosis
Get A Grip
6. Dec 15, 2011: Palo Alto Pop Overthrow
You Don't Have To Tell Me

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-11-13
Bright cheery pop, sugary yet bitter sweet. Fans of all things Smiths wont want to miss, plus twee pop, noise pop stuff from the 90’s. Great stuff on the jangle side yet with just enough darkness to keep it cynical and groovy. Male vocals, pretty guitars, smarmy nice drums, solid bass that swirls around the girls’ hips and go-go boots. Really excellent phase shifters used tastefully. Great stuff for your inner indie pop slave. Fans of Belle and Sebastian, Robin Hitchcock/Soft Boys, Orange Cake Mix, Dealership will like.

1) (2:53) smiths paced vocals and overall upbeat feel, bright bitter sweet feel, tone
2) (2:00) waltzy with dreamy slide lap steel, noddy and pretty near alt-country circa mid 90’s 4AD records
3) (3:03) bright cheery pop
4) (2:21) 80’s big snare beat and general upbeat tone
5) (3:26) midpaced slow dance head nodding twangy feel, pretty, with high quality phase shifter
6) (2:11) upbeat swingy fuzzy feel
7) (3:07) very upbeat and bouncy a la Belle and Sebastian or the like
8) (2:14) upbeat perfect pop
9) (3:34) Orange Cake Mix feel, airy pretty smarmy with lilting piano hook
10) (2:28) upbeat cheery pop
11) (1:39) slow swing, heavy echo/reverb, dark and alt western almost again, 4AD’ish

Track Listing
1. Get A Grip   6. You Can't Live On Love Alone
2. Lockjaw   7. Doing Time
3. You Don't Have To Tell Me   8. Confetti
4. Big Baby   9. Luck Is There To Be Pushed
5. Many Happy Returns   10. Brain Freeze
  11. If I Think About The Magic Will It Go Away?