Various Artists / Experimedia 2011 Label Sampler
Album: Experimedia 2011 Label Sampler   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Nov 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-11-20 Pull Date: 2012-01-22
Week Ending: Jan 15 Jan 8 Dec 25 Dec 4 Nov 27
Airplays: 2 2 2 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 12, 2012: razor's edge ii
Like Shadows In An Empty Cathedral
4. Jan 04, 2012: razor's edge
Like Shadows In An Empty Cathedral
2. Jan 08, 2012: Ghost Trees
Like Shadows In An Empty Cathedral
5. Dec 23, 2011: Memory Select
12 From
3. Jan 05, 2012: razor's edge (it's a douzy)
In 8 Movements (Part 1 & 2)
6. Dec 18, 2011: Ghost Trees

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-11-13
We don’t usually add/keep label samplers anymore. But when a new label sends us something this spectacular its impossible to resist: All the beauty of Hidden Shoal, Anticlock, early 4AD, with the experimental sense of Debacle, Inam, Fedora Corpse. Fantastic stuff ranging from goth folk to post-rockish prog, with a heavy nod to dreamy soundscapes. All tracks not just good, but amazing. Excellent, hope to get individual full-lengths from this label soon.

1) (3:48) slow strings, melodic droney
2) (6:20) low dark drone, with echoed guitar, subtle pickings with female vocs very buried and male voiceover, lovely
3) (11:34) upbeat jazzy ambient dreamy with cool swirling sounds, samples, organic/electronic, like Do Make Say Think, Godspeed, post-rockish and very cool
4) (6:05) gothy celtic folk with female vocs, all strings (bass, cello, viola etc), Fairport Convention meets 4AD records
5)(6:14) very quiet first few seconds, then a sample rich epic looping drone with lovely melodies develops, wow
6) (4:30) heavy dark drone, melodic layering, a balm that Eno would approve of
7) (5:54) very quiet first 13 seconds (careful to account for when cue’ing), low fi layered, echoey looped, near midway it crashes in epic, loud, intense but subdued (huh? Yes, its true, check it)
8) (3:05) quiet, looped subtle noise, dreamy with hard panned guitars, drone and samples appear, so f’ing great
9) (3:36) dijeridoo’ish drone to start then evolves to a wall of perfect epic layerd lush drone
10) (8:52) very quiet mellow drone, dreamscape
11) (7:41) very quiet intro (~30 secs), then slow waves of horn-like synth tones, dreamy in an old Eno sense, build into epic loveliness
12) (5:00) trippy noise, sounds, build into intense electro-wall, becomes violins, strings, super cool
13) (5:29) aquatic sounds, watery, predominate, with some cartoonish sounds: CAREFUL, false ending midway, ~10 secs of dead air and then it continues

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Aaron Martin Water Tongue
2. Piipstjilling Unkrud
3. Charles-Eric Charrier 12 From
4. Luup Horse Heart
5. Black Swan In 8 Movements (Part 1 & 2)
6. Black Swan The Quiet Divide
7. Jannick Schou Then Filling Your Pockets With Stones
8. Keith Freund He Noticed I'm Alive... And Other Hopeful Signs
9. Lawrence English The Hunting Life
10. Celer Bedded In Shallow Blades (Excerpt)
11. From The Mouth Of The Sun Like Shadows In An Empty Cathedral
12. Sean Mccann The Flying Party
13. Dolphins Into The Future Neutral Buoyancy