To Destroy A City / To Destroy A City
Album: To Destroy A City   Collection:General
Artist:To Destroy A City   Added:Nov 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-01-16 Pull Date: 2012-03-19
Week Ending: Mar 25 Mar 11 Mar 4 Feb 26 Feb 19 Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 29
Airplays: 1 2 2 3 1 3 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 07, 2022: The Fall of Math (rebroadcast from Jun 7, 2012)
Goodbye, Dear Friend
4. Mar 18, 2012: no voices aloud
Metaphor, Narcotic Sea
2. Jan 03, 2013: Top 100 Albums of 2012
Goodbye, Dear Friend
5. Mar 05, 2012: Ghost Trees
Goodbye, Dear Friend
3. Jun 07, 2012: The Fall of Math
Goodbye, Dear Friend
6. Mar 04, 2012: Instant Cat
Goodbye, Dear Friend

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-01-09
To Destroy a City's self-titled debut is a mixture of post-rock and ambiance of the kind. Atmospheric synths, soaring guitars, and live/electronic drum combos are layered together to build a coherent album that is hard to stop once you put it on. Instantly recalls mainstays of the post-rock genre, such as This Will Destroy You and Maserati. All instrumental tracks, with spoken word in track 3. FCC Clean.

01. (2:55) * Metaphor: Piano and soft synth patches in a slow track to open the album. Very much in the vein of Sigur Ros.
02. (6:14) Narcotic Sea: Electronic drum machine and synth transitions suddenly to live sounds, with light keys providing the unifying melody.
03. (5:33) * Ilium: Opens with a haunting spoken performance of T.S. Eliot's "The Hollow Men", although it seems out of place, as the track itself is upbeat and hopeful. Slow fade out, with about 8 seconds of silence at the end.
04. (6:27) Philosophy of a Knife Fight: Layered guitars and keyboards featured on this reverb-soaked ambient track.
05. (6:24) Before the Outside's Gone: Moody and atmospheric, the last minute of the song slowly fades into oblivion.
06. (2:39) * The Marvels of Modern Civilization: Mostly electronic instrumentation, feels almost like techno. Reminds me of Maserati's music.
07. (7:02) * Goodbye, Dear Friend: What starts as a synth-driven stargaze changes abrubtly halfway through into a post-rock elegy overlayed with a musical box melody.
08. (4:00) March: Very faint synth for the first minute. Atmospheric.

Track Listing
1. Metaphor   5. Before The Outside's Gone
2. Narcotic Sea   6. The Marvels Of Modern Civilization
3. Ilium   7. Goodbye, Dear Friend
4. Philosophy Of A Knife   8. March