Field, The / Looping State Of Mind
Album: Looping State Of Mind   Collection:General
Artist:Field, The   Added:Oct 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-10-30 Pull Date: 2012-01-01 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 13
Airplays: 1 1 3 3 3 3 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 26, 2016: does radio suck?
Then It's White
4. Dec 23, 2011: Memory Select
Burned Out
2. Feb 05, 2016: A Visit From Drum
Burned Out
5. Dec 13, 2011: There and Back Again
Then It's White
3. Dec 27, 2011: There and Back Again
It's Up There
6. Dec 11, 2011: lost and found
Burned Out

Album Review
Rasmus Rygaard
Reviewed 2011-11-01
Looping organic minimal techno. The Field likes his loops. A lot. After From Here We Go Sublime and Yesterday and Today, the Swede is back with another album of soft samples heavily looped. As always, there is a certain melancholic twist to the samples, which - considering that no more than a few seconds of any track is sampled - still impresses me. Don’t expect a party album here. This is for laid back listening and a touch of heartbreak. Try this if you’re a fan of Apparat, Burial, Four Tet or Pantha Du Prince.
Try: 4, 3, 2
FCC: Clean

1) 8:37 Alternates between airy, slightly off-key guitars in the far distance, and a focused drum and bass line. It’s all about the contrast. Hypnotic.
2) 9:21 * Very Sublime-ish. Echoes, reverb and a punchy guitar/bass groove when we’re not flying through space. Cymbal action, too.
3) 7:32 * Soft and organic. Incomprehensible vocal sample. Slightly melancholic.
4) 10:53 * What can I say, “Arpeggiated Love”? Mourning vocals, minor key guitar loops. Beautiful, fragile, timid. Alternates between a strong drive and an introverted groove.
5) 10:30 Esoteric, spacey, loopy. Starts out fairly minimal, slowly adds buzzing fuzzy layers. Builds and builds.
6) 7:52 Super soft and pleasant. That might be a female “ooh” sample. Very moody, melancholic. Carried by a repetitive piano chord progression.
7) 9:08 Weird, polyrhythmic sample. Gradually blurs out, remains esoteric. No kicks, but slowly assembles a bass line instead. Light and hopeful.

Track Listing
1. Is This Power   4. Arpeggiated Love
2. It's Up There   5. Looping State Of Mind
3. Burned Out   6. Then It's White
  7. Sweet Slow Baby