Emperor X / Western Teleport
Album: Western Teleport   Collection:General
Artist:Emperor X   Added:Oct 2011
Label:Bar/None Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-01-08 Pull Date: 2012-03-11
Week Ending: Feb 19 Feb 12 Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 01, 2017: deep storage
Sig Alert
4. Feb 07, 2012: Youth Demographic
Defiance (For Elise Sunderhuse)
2. Feb 15, 2012: The Fall of Math
A Violent Translation Of The Concordia Headscarp
5. Jan 25, 2012: Modern Donkey - Songs about Places
Canada Day
3. Feb 14, 2012: AudioVault
Erica Western Teleport
6. Jan 15, 2012: End of Everything
Erica Western Teleport

Album Review
Deniz Cebenoyan
Reviewed 2011-12-24
Emperor X/ “Western Teleport” / Bar None Records

Solid fun, dork-rock sounding music. Nerdy male vocals, well produced synthy indie rock/pop tracks. Not necessarily upbeat in mood, just often uptempo. Songs go from dealing with reflections, dreams, hardships, etc. to more serious matters as the album progresses like religion, education, war, rage. All with the same synthy rock beats and nerdy vocals. Awesome ☺

No FCCs detected. Favorites include: 1, 4, 8, 11

1. *3:33 Distorted guitar with chimey, happy-go-lucky clappy background. Synths, basic computer terms tossed around, solid toe-tappin’ fun. Last 30 sec instrumental.
2. 2:55 Synths throughout, tale of road travels and hardships. Uptempo beat ending.
3. 4:20 Acoustic guitar, midtempo beat, sounds like cloudy day bus travel musings.
4. *1:59 Fast running-esque beat, with sweet guitar picking which builds nicely. Wish it were longer!
5. 1:44 Mountain Goatsy. Lo-fi, layered acoustic guitar/vocals. Winding tape sound at end.
6. 3:42 Upbeat synth tempo, quickly strummed guitar, vocal harmonies.
7. 1:48 Slightly atonal strumming, dissonant piano/vocals, same chords repeated.
8. *3:31 Lyrics times nicely with fast paced music, criticism of religion, cute American-ness in his pronunciation of “Allahu Akbar”. Mention of bombs, religion, disasters – nothing outright offensive, but, eh, I dunno.
9. 1:57 Piano, layered vocals, slower. Pretty.
10. 3:11 Nice contrast of thrashy drums/guitars in background with nerdy vocals.
11. *2:56 Nice steady slower beat, picked guitar, well placed lyrics, nice chords in chorus. A more serious feel, strong closer.
Deniz Cebenoyan

Track Listing
1. Erica Western Teleport   6. Defiance (For Elise Sunderhuse)
2. Sig Alert   7. Anti-Rage
3. Canada Day   8. Allahu Akbar
4. A Violent Translation Of The Concordia Headscarp   9. Compressor Repair
5. The Magnetic Media Storage Practices Of Rural Pakistan   10. Sincerely, H. C. Pregerson
  11. Erica Western Geiger Counter