Lightnin' Malcolm / Renegade
Album: Renegade   Collection:General
Artist:Lightnin' Malcolm   Added:Oct 2011
Label:Ruf Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-10-16 Pull Date: 2011-12-18
Week Ending: Oct 23
Airplays: 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 20, 2011: The Songsmith Show
Precious Jewel
2. Oct 06, 2011: The Songsmith Show
Stop Fightin' Over Me

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2011-10-06
From North Mississippi, Lightnin’ Malcolm plays that electric trance guitar in the style of Mississippi Fred McDowell and R.L. Burnside. Joining him on drums is Junior Kimbrough’s grandson, Cameron Kimbrough, who lays down some good beats. Some good stuff here. FCC #6.

*My Favorites*: 2, 7, 8, 9.

1. (3:19) Slow / Mid. Mellow mood with guitar effects, drums and backing vocals.
2. *(2:41) Mid. Channeling some R.L. Burnside guitar with a similar plodding beat and vocal delivery. Good stuff.
3. (3:31) Mid. Title track INSTRUMENTAL with guitar, cymbal crashes, tambourine strikes. Trance guitar.
4. (4:49) Mid. Driving beat, with cool trance guitar.
5. (3:24) Mid. Full band with guitar, drums, horns. Steady rollin’.
6. (2:52) Mid. FCC.
7. *(3:42) Slow / Mid. Has that Black Keys sound, plodding and sparse with heavy drums.
8. *(3:48) Mid. Reggae beat with horns, nice and mellow.
9. *(3:32) Mid. Upbeat trance, cool tambourine, guitar and percussion.
10. (3:48) Mid. Wah-wah guitar, slight vocal effects, horns. Rap by J Grubbz.
11. (4;01) Mid. Heavy trance, heavy drumming. INSTRUMENTAL.
12. (3;50) Slow / Mid. Easy going, mellow, sparse. Just guitar and drums with vocal.
13. (3:40) Mid. Trance guitar, plodding beat.

Track Listing
1. Ain't Even Worried   7. Last Nite I Held An Angel
2. Stop Fightin' Over Me   8. Precious Jewel
3. Renegade   9. Come Go With Me
4. So Many Women   10. North Mississippi
5. Guilty Man   11. Foxfire Ranch
6. My Lyin' Ass   12. Tell You Girl
  13. You Better Recognize