Bottoms Up Blues Gang, The / Handle It
Album: Handle It   Collection:General
Artist:Bottoms Up Blues Gang, The   Added:Oct 2011
Label:Blue Skunk Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-10-16 Pull Date: 2011-12-18
Week Ending: Dec 11 Nov 27 Nov 13 Oct 30 Oct 23
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 30, 2011: The Songsmith Show
New World Blues
4. Nov 10, 2011: The Songsmith Show
New World Blues
2. Dec 08, 2011: The Songsmith Show
First Of May
5. Oct 27, 2011: The Songsmith Show
Show Your Love
3. Nov 24, 2011: The Songsmith Show
New World Blues
6. Oct 20, 2011: The Songsmith Show
Show Your Love

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2011-10-06
Vocalist Kari Liston and guitarist Jeremy Segel Moss lead the Blues Gang on their third album. They hail from St. Louis and have both an old-time and present bluesy and jazzy sound. Reminiscent of one part Michelle Shocked, another Pokey LaFarge (recent A-File), and lots of other stuff from the blues and jazz world, this one is destined to get some plays. Lots of instruments including guitar, bass, drums, horns, kazoo, harmonica. FCC #4.

*My Favorites*: 1, 2, 3, 7, 9.

1. *(3:15) Mid. Upbeat and bluesy with guitar, piano, percussion, horns. Galloping ride.
2. *(3:37) Mid. Old-timey jump rag, complete with killer horn and kazoo to boot.
3. *(5:28) Mid. Upbeat and a bit sparse with percussion and harmonica predominating and nice vocal breaks.
4. (4:03) Mid. FCC.
5. (3:57) Mid. Bluesy guitar and harmonica with a plodding beat. Male and female vocals with a flushing toilet at the end.
6. (6:30) Slow. Guitar, hollow harmonica and voice.
7. *(3:41) Mid. Upbeat, driving bluesy, jazzy, soulful, funky fresh. Horns and piano lead this tour-de-force of a gem.
8. (6:13) Slow / Mid. Down low blues, sparse. Guitar, harmonica and a mean vocal.
9. *(4:38) Mid. Male / female duet with percussion and guitar predominating.
10. (6:23) Slow / Mid. The classic ‘Drown In My Own Tears’ recorded back in 2006 featuring legendary St. Louis guitarist Bennie Smith. Nice rendition. About 12 seconds of silence at end.

Track Listing
1. South Broadway Blues   6. If Only
2. First Of May   7. Show Your Love
3. New World Blues   8. Quick Fix For Livin'
4. More I Get, The Less I Got   9. Stop Tellin' Me What To Do
5. Lover Foe   10. Drown In My Own Tears