Kk Rampage / Away From The Sunrise (12")
Album: Away From The Sunrise (12")   Collection:General
Artist:Kk Rampage   Added:Sep 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-07-21 Pull Date: 2013-09-22 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Sep 22 Aug 4
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 17, 2013: Hitting Our Ducks On Stuff
Black Crucifix
2. Aug 03, 2013: Meow
Dedicated To Misery

Album Review
Conor Doherty
Reviewed 2013-07-14
Proggy, occult rock. Lots of blood, coffins, crosses, unborn children, etc. The same muted drum sound comes up in nearly every song and is pretty much the only percussion on the album. The band's tumblr says they're also working on an "absurdist horror film," it that provides any context. Their myspace leads me to believe this album is (much) less noisy than standard KK Rampage output. Screechy guitars are the most common accompaniment, but piano and brass make appearances. Very very dark lyrics suggest that these guys are waaay out there (or maybe just goofing around). I think it's all FCC clean, but that's not the same thing as "in good taste."

1. (3:54) subdued wailing, muted drums and piano turns into screaming and chanting, religious imagery in lyrics
2. (3:57) sounds like Queen with metal drums and screechy guitars
3. (3:02) falsetto and pterodactyl screams
4. (3:20) many voices and simple drum line. something about a birthday suit? big build.
5. (3:38) echoey vocals and creepy lyrics (blood, children, tongues, etc.)
6. (3:01) almost pop, still creepy though. background sounds like a car starter motor slowed down. singing is surprisingly bouncy considering they're saying "dedicated to misery."
7. (2:13) military drums, whiney lead vocal but gets pretty poppy again
8. (3:08) more pterodactyl (and human) screams over choral backdrop

Track Listing
1. Away From The Sunrise   5. When You Kneel At The Throne...(Of Blood)
2. To Cast In Blood   6. Dedicated To Misery
3. Black Crucifix   7. On The Cross
4. And To Dust You Will Return   8. Black Crucifix (Reprise)