Merritt, Stephen / Obscurities
Album: Obscurities   Collection:General
Artist:Merritt, Stephen   Added:Sep 2011
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-03-17 Pull Date: 2012-05-19
Week Ending: May 20 Apr 22 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 5 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 27, 2015: Mix Tape: Electric Outlet-ish
You Are Not My Mother And I Want To Go Home (The Gothic Archies)
4. Apr 04, 2012: meow: the winter formal (best of hit parade of winter 2012)
You Are Not My Mother And I Want To Go Home (The Gothic Archies)
2. May 13, 2012: meow
You Are Not My Mother And I Want To Go Home (The Gothic Archies)
5. Mar 28, 2012: Modern Donkey - Family Tribute
Forever And A Day
3. Apr 16, 2012: Bridal Moments
Take Ecstasy With Me (The Magnetic Fields)
6. Mar 27, 2012: meow
Forever And A Day

Album Review
Deniz Cebenoyan
Reviewed 2012-03-14
Stephin Merritt / “Obscurities” / Merge Records

“Mastermind” of the Magnetic Fields, this is a collection of Stephin Merritt’s hard-to-find recordings, including work from side projects as well as the Mag Fields (circa “69 Love Songs” too). Mix of everything - acoustic numbers, rocky numbers, synthy numbers, happy-go-lucky numbers - there’s something for everyone. All tracks good, some even short and lovely, good for if you’ve only got a couple of min left in the show.

No FCCs detected.
Favorite tracks: 1, 7, 11, 12

1. *1:57 Vocals and uke/piano, great achey sad acoustic number!
2. 2:16 Synthy chiptunes meets forlorn singing. Midtempo, cool.
3. 3:06 Synthy, midtempo, videogamey background, guitars too.
4. 3:29 Acoustic guitar, female voice, pretty.
5. 3:04 Big synth sound, slightly atonal vocals, mid/upbeat.
6. 2:10 Acoustic guitar, slightly bored vocals, but nice.
7. *3:40 Upbeat, synthy, dreamy vocals, catchy and toe-tappin’.
8. 3:03 Midtempo, big energy sound, synthy, cowbell!
9. 2:26 Slow, big water drops-like sound in background, synths, awesomely dramatic vocals, almost like he’s impersonating someone.
10. 1:39 Upbeat, echoey dark vocals, short and sweet.
11. *2:11 Bunch of random synth instruments beeping/honking away over really nice simple chords/vocal melody. Kinda strange, but kinda awesome.
12. *3:33 Upbeat, female vocals, nice simple synth melody. Easy to like this.
13. 2:51 Male & female vocals, midtempo, happy-go-lucky sweetness.
14. 2:52 Distant chimes/distortions, vocals almost spoken, they kinda sorta fit.

Deniz Cebenoyan

Track Listing
1. Forever And A Day   8. Scream (Till You Make The Scene)
2. Rats In The Garbage Of The Western World (The Magnetic Fields)   9. The Song From Venus
3. I Don't Believe You (The Magnetic Fields)   10. Beach-A-Boop-Boop (The Magnetic Fields)
4. Plant White Roses (Buffalo Rome)   11. When I'm Not Looking, You're Not There (The Magnetic Fields)
5. Rot In The Sun (6th)   12. Take Ecstasy With Me (The Magnetic Fields)
6. The Sun And The Sea And The Sky   13. When You're Young And In Love
7. Yet Another Girl (6th)   14. You Are Not My Mother And I Want To Go Home (The Gothic Archies)