Lunar Miasma / Crystal Covered
Album: Crystal Covered   Collection:General
Artist:Lunar Miasma   Added:Sep 2011
Label:Basses Frequences  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-09-18 Pull Date: 2011-11-20 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Nov 13 Nov 6 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 25
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 2 7 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 25, 2021: Wee Animalcules (rebroadcast from Sep 30, 2011)
Purple Oscillator
4. Nov 03, 2011: razor's edge
A Thousand Suns
2. Nov 10, 2011: razor's edge
Circle Mountain
5. Oct 26, 2011: idk
Circle Mountain
3. Nov 07, 2011: Ghost Trees
A Thousand Suns
6. Oct 20, 2011: razor's edge
Purple Oscillator

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2011-09-16
Prolific electronic synth artist Lunar Miasma delivers twirling, sustained cosmic instrumental explorations. Space music. Tremendous intergalactic music. Lunar Miasma isn’t the only one doing throwback space synth music these days, but this stands out because of the way he’s able to layer in other droning prettiness. Meticulously textured, it avoids self-congratulatory synth indulgence and avoids simply overstimulating the listener with too many tonal patterns. All tracks slow, sequenced, arty, abstract, and worth your time. Also see James Ferraro’s Pixarni, Stellar Om Source, cassettes, and Emeralds.

1. Slow fade-in, cosmic minimalism, high-frequency synth sustain, sparse aftershocks. (3:59)
*2. Droning synth feedback, wow, these are lovely waves of fuzz. (8:33)
3. Lots of spaceship effects, organ, an austronaut explores a new galaxy, kind of retro, sequenced synth creeps in. Early fade-out, but a second burst of a tune comes in. (8:02)
*4. Minimal ringing tone opens, slow layering and washing of droning keys and distortion, gets lush and goes through several movements. Quite pretty. (8:46)
*5. Ringing drone, sustained slow-mo organ, glitching electronics, and computer whistling. This one is the funereal dirge/sad ballad of this album. (9:52)
6. Minimal, insistent, panning synth drone. Almost painfully subtle. Reminds me of the bubblewrap record. (12:20)

Track Listing
1. The Last Drop Of Weight   4. Purple Oscillator
2. Circle Mountain   5. A Thousand Suns
3. Crystal Covered   6. Cream