Ocote Soul Sounds / Taurus
Album: Taurus   Collection:World
Artist:Ocote Soul Sounds   Added:Aug 2011
Label:Esl Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2013-01-26 Pull Date: 2013-03-31 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Mar 24 Mar 17 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 10 Feb 3
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 19, 2018: Road Trip
En El Temblor, Sttp
4. Mar 20, 2013: Sunshine . . . on a Springtime Afternoon!
2. Feb 10, 2016: funk to fiddle
5. Mar 15, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
3. Jun 09, 2013: The Doldrummer
Agua Santa
6. Feb 23, 2013: Music Casserole

Album Review
librae jackson
Reviewed 2013-01-15
Ocote Sounds/Taurus/ESL Music

Funktronic Folklore is the description with which this band describes its sound. Those words could not have been more accurate. This project could fit into various categories: World, Latin, Afrobeat, Funk, Soul, Jazz Fusion, Electronica, Folk. However, it might do the listener well to simply let the music be, and enjoy it for what it is. It has a variety of ingredients, but the overall concoction is a tasty one, indeed. Plus, it's organic. In other words, this music might be good for you. Give it a try.

Recommended: 1, 2, 3, 8, 10

1. Primavera (3:31)
Opens with congas, followed by a tribal vocal chant, which continues intermittently, as the chorus. Funky guitar, contemplative organ, rhythmic percussion. Fades out with whimsical saxophone riffs.

2. Pirata (2:23)
A hard drum beat sets the precedent. Nice flute arrangement, with splendid guitar and bass work. There's a breakdown toward the middle, where electronic space sounds meet with the earthy percussion.

3. En El Temblor (3:36)
This song is also driven by a hard beat. Vocals, sung in Spanish, are just as expressive as the groove. Electric piano with assorted percussion gives it a mellowed down salsa feel, but more suitable for the motor vehicle than the dance floor. This is definitely one to ride around to.

4. Pathways (4:02)
Suitable title, as each instrument seems to be on its own journey. But then, all paths cross perfectly, bringing the groove to a pleasant destination. Steady Afrobeat rhythm has a sublime mix of flute, sax, organ, guitar and percussion.

5. Speak Truth to Power (4:57)
Slower Afrobeat rhythm with conscious ambitions, reminiscent of Fela Kuti. English vocals.

6. Cumbia La Magdalena (3:33)
Mellow groove with a Jamacian feel.

7. Pan y Circo (5:55)
More conscious English vocals, singing soulful commentary about society's woes. Imagine Marvin Gaye's "Inner City Blues" with Bob Marley's "So Much Trouble in the World."

8. Agua Santa (4:07)
The album reaches new heights with this tune. All instruments rise to an exquisite musical occasion, with a slow flow. A Spanish chorus garnishes the groove. Excellent piece of music. Turn up and relax.

9. Tumba del Payaso (2:33)
Rhythms on this cut are less influenced by the African diaspora, and more like European textures of Spain, France and Italy. Still fits nicely into the project, as an instrumental interlude.

10. Contigo Hamas (4:33)
Starts off with an introductory mix of riffs. Immediately becomes a straight ahead Salsa jam, with a Cha Cha feel, but slowed way down, to give it a soulful Rock en Espanol vibe. Play this!

11. Nessuno (4:13)
Another excursion into Spain. The band's folklore emphasis is most noticeable on this one.

12. Guantanamo (5:47)
Spanish vocals over an Afrobeat groove, with freedom as the tune's apparent focus. Ends with pleasant exchanges between the funk guitar and electric piano.

Track Listing
1. Primavera   7. Pan Y Circo
2. Pirata   8. Agua Santa
3. En El Temblor   9. Tumba Del Payaso
4. Pathways   10. Contigo Jamas
5. Sttp   11. Nessuno
6. Cumbia La Magdalena   12. Guantanamo