Murkus, Amal / Baghanni (I Sing)
Album: Baghanni (I Sing)   Collection:World
Artist: Murkus, Amal   Added:Aug 2011
Label: Amal Murkus Productions  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-08-28 Pull Date: 2011-10-30 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 18 Sep 4
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 13, 2013: Mediterraneans
Baghanni (I Sing)
4. Jan 30, 2013: Mediterraneans
'ala Hadhihi Al-Ard (On This Earth/Gracias A La Vida)
2. May 09, 2013: Mediterraneans
Kull Shi (To Me, Everything Is Great)
5. Oct 02, 2012: Mediterraneans
Baghanni (I Sing)
3. Feb 27, 2013: Mediterraneans
'ala Hadhihi Al-Ard (On This Earth/Gracias A La Vida)
6. Jun 12, 2012: Mediterraneans
'ala Hadhihi Al-Ard (On This Earth/Gracias A La Vida)

Album Review
Abu Ramses
Reviewed 2011-08-22
Amal Murkus, “Baghanni” (I Sing) – Amal Murkus Productions, 2011
Reviewed by Abu Ramses – ALL TRACKS FCC CLEAN

Fourth album of Amal Murkus, mezzo-soprano Palestinian Arab citizen of Israel. Repertoire ranges from the Israeli version of “Sesame Street” to Palestinian folk tunes to Palestinian nationalist poems of the late Mahmoud Darwish and Tawfiq Zayyad, featured here on several tracks. Her uncompromising nationalism prevents her from finding a professional distributor. Main composers & accompanists are Nasim Dakwar (violin & oud) & Mahran Mor‘eb (kanun). Shows influence of Lebanese singer/oudist Marcel Khalife. The Arabic cover of the Chilean folk song “Gracias a la Vida” – anthem of the late Argentine Mercedes Sosa introduced to US audiences by Joan Baez (with some new Palestine-oriented lyrics) - (10) is a must!

Tracks: Try 3, 6, 9, *****10

1. Baghanni (I sing) – Eerie intro with percussion, cello & kanun; then a stately anthem: “I sing from my soul to my land” - 6:27
2. Kam al-ba‘ed, ba‘ed? (How far is far?) – More traditional sound; mid-tempo; soaring soprano. Lyrics by M. Darwish – 3:47
3. Kull Shi (To me everything is great) – Bright, up-beat with oud, accordion, qanun, nay, and more – 4:16
4. Masa' Saghir (Tiny Night)–Stately, flute & kanun featured; @ 4:20 allegro drum & instrumental; then back to upbeat. Last words: No pasaran! (in Arabic)- Spanish Civil War anti-fascist slogan. Lyrics by M. Darwish - 6:51
5. Abbay (My father) – Traditional instrumentation; ode to father - 6:19
6. Doqq (Knock) – Upbeat, energetic, ensemble musical intro; Nice oud solo. Displays her upper range. “Keep knocking, the door of love is locked” - 3:44
7. Ezra‘uni (Sow me) – March-tempo ode to the land. Lyrics, T. Zayyad 3:52
8. Ana Rayha (I’m leaving) – Upbeat, oud, nay, qanun; breakup song - 4:16
9. Hubb wa-Farah (Love & happiness) upbeat, features buzuk (Greek version of oud)- 3:40
10. Akrahu safk al-damm (I hate bloodshed) March-tempo. Nice oud; full ensemble backup. Lyrics, T. Zayyad - 4:03
11. ‘Ala Hadhihi al-ard (On this land/Gracias a la Vida) – with some added Palestinian lyrics – 4:30

Track Listing
1. Baghanni (I Sing)   6. Doqq (Knock)
2. Kam Al-Ba'ed Ba'ed (How Far Is Far?)   7. Ezra'uni (Sow Me)
3. Kull Shi (To Me, Everything Is Great)   8. Ana Rayha (I'm Leaving)
4. Masa' Saghir (Tiny Night)   9. Hubb Wa-Farah (Love And Happiness)
5. Abbay (My Father)   10. Akrahu Safk Al-Damm (I Hate Bloodshed)
  11. 'ala Hadhihi Al-Ard (On This Earth/Gracias A La Vida)