Segall, Ty / Goodbye Bread
Album: Goodbye Bread   Collection:General
Artist:Segall, Ty   Added:Aug 2011
Label:Drag City  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-12-04 Pull Date: 2012-02-05
Week Ending: Feb 5 Jan 29 Jan 15 Jan 8 Dec 18 Dec 11
Airplays: 1 2 2 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 03, 2021: Mix Tape: Pesach
California Commercial
4. Jul 04, 2015: Mix Tape: Happy Birthday, America!
Goodbye Bread
2. Jun 07, 2016: The Fishbowl: Graduation
California Commercial, Goodbye Bread
5. May 13, 2015: The Fishbowl
California Commercial, Goodbye Bread
3. Nov 30, 2015: Fishbowl: Kaleidescope Eyes
California Commercial, Goodbye Bread
6. Feb 24, 2015: The Fishbowl
I Can't Feel It

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-11-27
Snotty and bored, Ty Segall is an SF-based retro garage-psych musician, and this album is a somewhat bluesy exploration of that territory, also featuring some punk and British invasion influences. Slightly lo-fi with big emphases on crunchy guitars and slowly pounding drums. Quite accessible and should fit in on indie/pop shows just as much as during garage sets on late night radio.

RIYL: Epsilons, Thee Oh Sees, the Stooges, John Lennon

*1. (3:24) Slow, stony, bluesy. Beatlesy vocals and guitar solo
2 (1:16) Abrasive rhythm, sarcastic, synced cymbals & crunching guitars
3 (2:17) About a dispute with a girlfriend over the need of a couch
4 (2:30) Buzzy, distorted, psychy and deliberately paced
5 (4:03) Bluesy, possibly attempted Ziggy Stardust vibe early on, then a chorus is sang along intensifying guitar for the final three minutes
*6 (3:09) Slower acoustic distorto-blues-psych pop song for the first half; second half starts singing "my head explodes" goes electric and loud
7 (3:37) Loud, crashing drums/weird guitar melody plays at beginning and throughout, big focus on drums.
**8 (4:12) Pretty standard rock'n'roll for most parts; the alternating fuzzy dreamy chorus and blistering electric guitar make this one a winner
9 (4:36) Hard to pick up FCC "fucking" at 1:21. List of grievances opens and then track moves through moods: dreamy, stoned, loud, bluesy, solo
10 (4:25) Sounds like he's trying to sound like Lennon here; mid-tempo love song "Oh no... oh yeah... loving is what I do," etc. are the lyrics

Track Listing
1. Goodbye Bread   6. My Head Explodes
2. California Commercial   7. The Floor
3. Comfortable Home (A True Story)   8. Where Your Head Goes
4. You Make The Sun Fry   9. I Am With You
5. I Can't Feel It   10. Fine