Donkeys, The / Born With Stripes
Album: Born With Stripes   Collection:General
Artist:Donkeys, The   Added:Jun 2011
Label:Dead Oceans  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-12-11 Pull Date: 2012-02-12
Week Ending: Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 22 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 10, 2012: InAcrossAwayFromMe
I Like The Way You Walk
4. Jan 19, 2012: American Beauty
2. Feb 10, 2012: meow
Don't Know Who We Are
5. Jan 05, 2012: A Family Affair
3. Feb 01, 2012: Everyday Commotion
Born With Stripes
6. Jan 03, 2012: Modern Donkey

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2011-12-07
Indie-rock, ’60’s stylings, jammy, jangly, lots of stuff going on here from this four-piece out of San Diego. It’s their 3rd full-length and a strong album. Some very catchy tunes, some not so catchy (but still kicking ass). Instrumentation of guitar, bass, drums, keys and sitar. Every song is worthy of a play. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: Every song.

1. (3:58) Mid. Kind of dreamy with keys, big snare drum, spacey guitar.
2. (4:11) Mid. Great-sounding even-paced guitar, plodding beat, backing vocals.
3. (4:37) Slow / Mid. Has some spaghetti western sounds, a bit of Jim White, steady beat, dreamy, backing vocals. Hip.
4. (1:42) Mid. Title track. Upbeat, driving, echoey vocals, slightly trippy keys.
5. (5:08) Slow / Mid. Dreamy with big cymbals, paced guitar. Kinda loosey-goosey, channeling some ’60’s noodling. Repetitive ‘Jupiter is on the rise’ lyric. Quick ending.
6. (2:56) Mid. INSTRUMENTAL. Sitar, acoustic guitar, tambourine strikes. Killer.
7. (1:38) Mid. Poppy, jangly, echoey vocals, backing vocals. Dreamy, cool keys, guitar.
8. (4:39) Mid. Heavy percussion with guiro, gets really rockin’ with guitar soloing.
9. (2:44) Mid. Plodding beat, kinda sparse, guitar, drums, shaker, tambourine. Cool and kinda trippy.
10. (2:58) Slow / Mid. Slow start ‘til band gets going, echoey vocal, plodding beat, swirling keys.
11. (6:48) Slow / Mid. Really sparse ballad-type at first. Spacey Robby Krieger (The Doors) sounding guitar at times. Gets really spacey and jammy with lots of feedback. Very cool.
12. (4:09) Mid. INSTRUMENTAL. Cousin to song #6 with sitar and a bit fuller sounding. Pounding beat, driving, kick ass.

Track Listing
1. Don't Know Who We Are   7. New Blue Stockings
2. I Like The Way You Walk   8. Ceiling Tan
3. Bloodhound   9. Oxblood
4. Born With Stripes   10. Bullfrog Blues
5. Kaleidoscope   11. Valerie
6. West Coast Raga   12. East Coast Raga