Picture Atlantic / When Everything Is Numbers
Album: When Everything Is Numbers   Collection:General
Artist:Picture Atlantic   Added:Jun 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-12-04 Pull Date: 2012-02-05
Week Ending: Feb 5 Jan 22 Jan 1 Dec 25 Dec 18
Airplays: 3 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 08, 2013: Time Traveler
With One Clipped Wing
4. Jul 06, 2012: Time Traveler
With One Clipped Wing
2. Apr 12, 2013: Time Traveler
With One Clipped Wing
5. Jun 05, 2012: Time Traveler
With One Clipped Wing
3. Dec 28, 2012: Time Traveler
With One Clipped Wing
6. Feb 03, 2012: InAcrossAwayFromMe
With One Clipped Wing

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2011-11-28
“When Everything Is Numbers” Picture Atlantic (EP)
Alternative indie rock with some pop hooks from 3-piece Santa Clara band. The included one-sheet calls Picture Atlantic a prog-rock band. Maybe, I guess. The EP certainly has some prog-rock influences. But most of the songs have strong pop hooks. Instruments include guitar, organ at times, and even synth — plus drums. Lots of drums. Strong male vocalist on all tracks. CD originally released in Dec. 2010.
— Francis

Recommended: 2, 1, 4 No FCCs detected.

1. (1:59) "Joust" Reminds me a bit of Al Stewart’s “Year of the Cat”. Drums and ringing guitar create a “traveling” feeling. High, clear male vocals are prominent. Disappointingly short. ***
2. (3:41) "With One Clipped Wing" 1980s synth bed underneath, used almost as rhythm together with the ever-present drums. Melody has nice hooks. Again very strong, high male vocals. ****
3. (4:19) "Guerilla" Ominous pounding piano starts out and continues under tune. More of a prog-rock flavor. High male vocals, with falsetto in the chorus. Becomes a bit plodding and monotonous at times.
4. (3:52) "What Men Live By" Driving beat. Up-tempo rock song with pop hooks. Organ and rapidly strummed guitar provide sound bed. Vocals often follow a descending scale. **
5. (4:25) "Ladder" Starts with pounding drums. Off-center beat. Lots of dynamic changes. Melody follows unusual sequence of notes.

Track Listing
1. Joust   3. Guerilla
2. With One Clipped Wing   4. What Men Live By
  5. Ladder