Torkian, Loga Ramin / Mehraab
Album: Mehraab   Collection:World
Artist:Torkian, Loga Ramin   Added:Jun 2011
Label:Terrestrial Lane  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-06-12 Pull Date: 2011-08-14 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 19
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 06, 2013: Mediterraneans
Gavan (The Wild Deer)
4. Jul 30, 2011: New World Disorder
Mehraab (Shrine)
2. Aug 09, 2011: At the Cafe Bohemian
Gavan (The Wild Deer)
5. Jul 26, 2011: at the cafe bohemian
Az Pardeh (Through The Veil), Gavan (The Wild Deer)
3. Aug 06, 2011: New World Disorder
Az Pardeh (Through The Veil)
6. Jul 23, 2011: New World Disorder
Az Pardeh (Through The Veil)

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2011-06-10
Loga Ramin Torkian – Mehraab
Reviewed by Sadie O., 6/10/11
Contemporary Iranian/Persian. Hot on the heels of Niyaz co-founder (his wife, Azim Ali)’s solo release, Torkian plays most instruments and produces, massaging traditional Persian music/instrumentation into a trance-y soundscape. All gorgeous. No real favorites, no FCCs.
1. 5:21 **minor key tones for a few seconds, then insistent hand drum rhythm, strings and tones. Instrumental. Builds in layers and intensity.
2. 4:24 **low-key, loping hand drum and strings, lovely male vocals, a bit akin to Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan in style.
3. 4:40 **very low-key (in all senses) tones for 44 seconds, then slow, loping hand drum, male vocals.
4. 3:59 **subdued hand drums and very lush strings. Builds. Bits of echo-laden and lyricless vocals in second half.
5. 5:25 **very trance-y and mysterious – electronic springy sounds and things that started life as probably flutes and strings, lovely ululating vocals, and hand drums that don’t start until a minute and a half in. Amazing total effect.
6. 4:06 **eerie tones, processed and far-away vocals, finally loping hand drums and prettiness. Builds.
7. 5:16 **strong hand drum rhythm, with vocals in unison.
8. 4:08 **echoes and tones, as well as quark, strangeness and charm. Vocals, but no beat. Seems sad, but maybe it’s just contemplative…

Track Listing
1. Gavan (The Wild Deer)   5. Mehraab (Shrine)
2. Az Pardeh (Through The Veil)   6. Parva (Compassion)
3. Golzare Ashegh (Garden Of The Beloved)   7. Souz-E-Del (The Burning Heart)
4. Chashme Jadu (Your Bewitching Eyes)   8. Avaaz