Spinning Leaves And Hezekiah Jones / Hezekiah Leaves And The Spinning Joneses
Album: Hezekiah Leaves And The Spinning Joneses   Collection:General
Artist:Spinning Leaves And Hezekiah Jones   Added:May 2011
Label:Mad Dragon Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-09-11 Pull Date: 2011-11-13
Week Ending: Nov 13 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 25, 2021: Wee Animalcules (rebroadcast from Sep 30, 2011)
The Crab Song
4. Oct 24, 2011: ReAd mY liPs
The Crab Song, You Are The Sun
2. Oct 24, 2014: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
The Crab Song
5. Oct 19, 2011: Buford J. Sharkley's Themeless Escapades
The Mountain Song
3. Nov 09, 2011: Buford J. Sharkley's Themeless Escapades
Walking Blues
6. Oct 12, 2011: Buford J. Sharkley's Themeless Escapades
Year Of The

Album Review
Savitri Glowe
Reviewed 2011-08-23
Two distinct albums rolled into ONE! All you have to do is pick your style.

Folkie, Indie, Poppie, Quirkie. Must be played!! FCC on track 9.

Review by Savitri

Hezekiah Leaves (Twang folk hipsterness)

These songs are all over the place. Recommend listening to this on the porch during a hot summah’ night with a cold PBR wearing only your beaten up red-sneakers. This album is why college radio exists or perhaps college radio exists for this album.

1. [4:09] male twang vocals, upbeat. Dreamy pop feel with a heavy helping of folk.
2. *[2:03] Am I in Paris? Female/Male vocals with accordion. Eclectic percussion.
3. **[3:49] Reverberish/Echoey start. Lead into harmonic and guitar. Twangy goofy vocals. Upbeat indie rock that got a bit lazy half way through and decide to would rather be indie folk. Loving the harmonica.
4. **[2:42] Lotsa twang. Simple compared to the other songs. Cute feel. Upbeat makes me wanna shake something. Total deterioration at 30 seconds. A dragon literally burns up the whole song and the audience.
5. [4:04] A song about pee and poop. Rock electro guitar. “All my pee in a swimming pool, does it fill up the deep end?” “All my poop goes down the sewer, does it come out my faucet?”
6. ***[3:31] Folk song about a crab. Mixed vocals. Guitar and clapping. Solid twang with dreamy switch towards the end. Upbeat throughout.
7. *[2:36] Upbeat Memphis feel. Rock-a-billy goodness. Yum!

The Spinning Jones (Indie Folk)

This is the more serious side of the album. Great lyrics, calm sweet feel throughout. All Acoustic. All beautiful.

FCC on track 9 (FUCKER)

8. [4:15] Gong starts off what is ultimately a totally different album. Dreamy sounds with some background purring (yes purring). Guitar and soft vocals. Very harmonic.
9. [3:10] FCC: fucker @ 1:37. Male vocals, serious feel. Good twang. Unfortunately, not safe for air.
10. ***[3:47] Folk sweetness. Male/female harmony. Lots of strings including a ukulele possibly a tuba keeping up as bass. Slow, almost a love song but maybe a little sad.
11. [3:06] slow dreamy lullaby. Violin comes in at 1:30 and is beautiful.
12. **[2:20] Clever lyrics and good story. Slower paces folk, all strings.
13. *[2:53] Several guitars holding it together with a very lyrical feel. Solf and sweet. Flute added after 1 minutes. Very pretty song about lost love.
14. [4:03] Dreamy song with back and forth male/female vocals.

Track Listing
1. Stan The Fisherman   8. The Mysterious Song
2. The Mountain Song   9. Strange Dream
3. On A Chain Gang   10. You Are The Sun
4. Year Of The   11. Coyote Song
5. All My Pee   12. Shore To Shore
6. The Crab Song   13. Beautiful Swan
7. Walking Blues   14. Sunflower Seeds