Johnston, Demian & Mink Stole / Trailed And Kept
Album: Trailed And Kept   Collection:General
Artist:Johnston, Demian & Mink Stole   Added:May 2011
Label:Debacle Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-12-04 Pull Date: 2012-02-05 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 5 Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Dec 18 Dec 11
Airplays: 2 2 1 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 04, 2012: Jazz Catharsis
Devil Takes The Something
4. Jan 23, 2012: Ghost Trees
Virgin Piles
2. Jan 30, 2012: Ghost Trees
Devil Takes The Something
5. Jan 20, 2012: Songs: Cantan
Burn Under Our Fingernails
3. Jan 27, 2012: Songs: Cantan
Dust And Sad
6. Jan 10, 2012: drone zone
Dust And Sad, Devil Takes The Something

Album Review
Adam Pearson
Reviewed 2011-12-04
Heavy, droning guitar and ambient noisescapes. I’m taking a bit from the Debacle description because it’s spot on: Demian Johnston of Great Falls, Playing Enemy, and Hemingway recorded a single take of guitar/pedal improv in Seattle and sent it down to LA to the capable hands of Chris Negrette (Mink Stole - “all other instruments”). A stunning, cross-genre bliss wash of muddy guitar fuzz, foggy vocal goop, and metallic distortion. Truly one of my favorite Debacle releases, and I’ve been listening to a lot of Debacle. All tracks are fantastic, but I’ve starred a few for the late-night crowd. For fans of: Kevin Drumm, Pyramids, Jesu, Yellow Swans.

1. Layered din of thick distorted guitar scary guitar/effects. (4:00)
*2. Slow cymbals and looped buzz for first 8 minutes before it gives way to a dreamy ambient guitar/waaay gone vocals pretty section, dissolving into trippy bliss. (17:34)
3. Bright, spacey, delayed guitars, warm layers of dreamy floating. (5:28)
*4. Slow synth sustain and stormy guitar build, lots of brutal, distorted, screamed vocals in the second half in front of minimal, buzzy instrumentation. The piece is dark and quite uneasy. (12:59)
5. Dense, layered, menacing, droning machine noise. Skullflower. Awyeh. (8:20)
6. Pretty, droney ambient with operatic vocals out of a David Lynch film. (7:17)
7. Messy, dark, noisy swirl. Wow. (7:16)

Track Listing
1. Crept Into Homes   4. Dust And Sad
2. Burn Under Our Fingernails   5. The Whitening
3. Devil Takes The Something   6. Virgin Piles
  7. Of Our Rivals