Konntinent / Down With Candy
Album: Down With Candy   Collection:General
Artist:Konntinent   Added:May 2011
Label:Debacle Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-05-14 Pull Date: 2011-07-16
Week Ending: Jul 17 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22
Airplays: 3 1 2 1 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 16, 2011: meow: a self-promoting whore of a musical
Down With Candy
4. Jun 11, 2011: Songs: Cantan pts. I & II
Down With Candy
2. Jul 15, 2011: Music Casserole
Red Lion
5. Jun 02, 2011: meowgasm!
45 Magnificent Horses, Down With Candy
3. Jul 10, 2011: lost and found
Down With Candy
6. May 29, 2011: kzsuth p.2
Down With Candy

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-05-08
Konntinent is a total allstar in the world of microlabels. His high-soaring electronic jams have graced handfuls of excellent labels including Sweat Lodge Guru, Sonic Pieces, Phantom Channel, etc. He is notable for his bold electronic work which has a lot of shoegaze, ambient, and 80’s synth-based influences, but is still fresh and interesting. Yet another great mindmelting electronic album for the a-file. For fans of Tidal, Vangelis, Alex Barnett, Red Electric Rainbow, Lunar Miasma, etc.


1. Wandering Twilight Zone waves of ambient euphoria that are soon punctured by gain-soaked guitar and what sounds like crackles in the very fabric of space time. Bladerunnercore at its finest. Later dissolves into a great set of dreamy fairytale chimes. An excellent track!
2. Crunchy electronics, scattered samples, occasional blasts of synth. A very disorganized experimental track which gradually dissolves into a blurry wave of static like the heat rising off the blacktop at the end of recess…
3. Slow-building badass electronica. Hammering, echoing and relentless. Gradually transitions into a far-out cosmic jam. A nice ambient bit at the end rounds things out.
4. A bit more mellow than the others. Haunting and minimalist with a ton of Vangelis-inspired synth work. Sounds like you’re being chased in the dark. This one might take a few listens to grow on you, but it’s excellent regardless.
5. The first minute or so is pretty slow and then it gradually blossoms into a feast of lights, colors and sounds. Lots of cool textures and an oh-so-sunny melody.

Track Listing
1. Down With Candy   3. Red Lion
2. 45 Magnificent Horses   4. New Neo Tokyo / From The Beach, Odaiba Bay
  5. All Gamma, All Night