Slaves, The / Ocean On Ocean
Album: Ocean On Ocean   Collection:General
Artist:Slaves, The   Added:May 2011
Label:Debacle Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-07-24 Pull Date: 2011-09-25
Week Ending: Sep 25 Sep 18 Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31
Airplays: 1 2 3 2 1 2 5 5

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 25, 2011: Ghost Trees
4. Sep 13, 2011: Morning Songs
2. Sep 21, 2011: bricolage
5. Sep 08, 2011: don't hate me because i'm beautiful still
3. Sep 14, 2011: Brownian Motion
6. Sep 07, 2011: don't hate me because i'm beautiful

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-07-20
Hypnotic droney balms of noisey synth, organs, tempered with choral buried female vocals, Eno meets Sujo with My Bloody Valentine guesting in a gothic church. In fact, a lot of this reminds me of what Kevin Shields did on the Lost in Translation soundtrack. Dreamy stuff, all recorded on a 4 track cassette and transferred to digital (be still my heart). Qualifies as instrumental as the voices are lyric-free, or at least just embellishments. Great bliss-out for the droned out late night crowd. All Great!

1) (8:01) nice droney noisey synth and tones, about a minute in Eno’esque fem choral voices appear, balmy and dreamy, lovely, nice long noisey fade-out
2) (6:26) more dreamy synth drone, buried voices
3) (10:50) shimmering, almost churchlike in its hypnotism
4) (8:06) slow phrased, with organ, builds a little noisier as it evolves, nice stuff
5) (6:18) churchlike organ with distant echoey male vocs in the catacombs, nice white noises
6) (10:35) dense slow melodic organ, layers of noise and vocalizations, big massive blissout

Track Listing
1. Seventeen   4. Shadows
2. Sweet High   5. Inn In Heaven
3. Wild Ride   6. Dokude