Mualem, Yinon / Breath
Album: Breath   Collection:World
Artist: Mualem, Yinon   Added:Apr 2011
Label: Magda Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-04-17 Pull Date: 2011-06-19 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jun 19 Jun 5 May 29 May 22 May 8 May 1 Apr 24
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 01, 2016: Melange
Ana Behasdeha (I Am At Your Mercy)
4. Jun 16, 2011: Meditrrraneans
Rast Taksim On Oud, Abu (Father)
2. May 11, 2015: Clean Copper Radio
The Sound Of Rhythm
5. Jun 02, 2011: Mediterraneans
Breath (For Dilek)
3. Jun 18, 2011: Music Casserole
Rast Taksim On Oud
6. May 26, 2011: Mediterraneans
Longa Oriental

Album Review
Abu Ramses
Reviewed 2011-04-07
Yinon Mualem, Breath (Tinshemi) (Magda Music, 2011)
ALL TRACKS FCC CLEAN Reviewed by Abu Ramses

Yinon Mualem was born in Israel to parents of Iraqi origin. A composer and percussionist (darbuka, def, bendir, Iranian zarb, kanjira -south Indian tambourine- and Gatham -clay pot). In 1998 he began playing the oud and went to study music in Istanbul, where he still lives. He has produced 5 albums of his own compositions, collaborated with prominent Turkish musicians, performed for the Turkish prime minister and as a soloist with the Tekfen Istanbul Philharmonic Orchestra, & initiated collaborations between Israeli & Turkish musicians. On the album: Sinan Cem Eroglu (saz, fretless & acoustic guitar, kaval, kopuz); Cenk Erdogan (keyboards, double bass, guitars); Yinon Mualem (vocals, percussion, kalimba); Sumru Agiryürüyen (vocals); Selim Koytak (oud); Hakan Gürbüz (electric bass); Serdar Pazarcioglu (violin); Alper Kiliç (double bass); Dilek Mualem (vocals); Cemil Tatllipinar (electric bass); Vincent Couprie (tabla); Jan Rast Mualem (vocals)


I like 1, 2, 8, 9, 10

1. Breath (For Dilek) – slow, kaval (flute) intro, electric guitar backup, Hebrew vocal - 5:17
2. Abu (Father) – Up-tempo, flamenco-klezmer instrumental mashup - 3:21
3. Lonely– Mid-tempo instrumental; flute, oud, guitar, nice violin solo- 3:15
4. Ana Behasdeha (I’m at your mercy) – mid-beat, flamenco guitar intro, then violin, Hebrew vocal by Yinon - 5:09
5. The Sound Of Rhythm – Up-tempo, mainly violin solo, imitates a wailing clarinet; slows at 4:25 to feature percussion & kalimba until reprise - 6:58
6. On The Mountain – Intro Saz and kaval, then droning chorus in back, strings join in towards end - 4:03
7. Alma Ve Lama (A Maiden and why) – guitar & kaval intro, downbeat vocal features vocal by Yinon + female vocal backup with guitar and nay - 4:02
8. Rast Taksim on Oud – mid-tempo oud solo. Rast is a mode, like a major scale. Short but beautiful! - 1:26
9. Rast – All instrumental Oud is featured with flute, guitar, and percussion -3:16
10. Longa Oriental – Loose interpretation of the Longa, an upbeat Middle Eastern instrumental form. Mixed with some blues & flamenco elements - 3:47
11. Small Rast – Slow, baby crying & kalimba with background instruments - 3:29

Track Listing
1. Breath (For Dilek)   6. On The Mountain
2. Abu (Father)   7. Alma Ve Lama
3. Lonely   8. Rast Taksim On Oud
4. Ana Behasdeha (I Am At Your Mercy)   9. Rast
5. The Sound Of Rhythm   10. Longa Oriental
  11. Small Rast