Chain And The Gang / Music's Not For Everyone
Album: Music's Not For Everyone   Collection:General
Artist:Chain And The Gang   Added:Mar 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-07-10 Pull Date: 2011-09-11
Week Ending: Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21 Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 24 Jul 17
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 3 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 17, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [W1510]
Youth Is Wasted On The Young
4. Aug 26, 2011: The Songsmith Show
Why Not?
2. Sep 07, 2011: Brownian Motion
Youth Is Wasted On The Young
5. Aug 23, 2011: meow
Not Good Enough
3. Aug 30, 2011: meow
Youth Is Wasted On The Young
6. Aug 17, 2011: Brownian Motion
It's A Hard, Hard Job (Keeping Everybody High)

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-06-30
One part Jonathon Richman, another Mouldy Peaches. Living room garbage can low fi minimal instruments tone, garagey and bluesy in places. Male story telling vocs with female duets and backs throughout. Silly feel with really good lyrics that are macabre and scathing too. Music varies from blues based to a swingy latin smarmy feel very much in the vein of Jonathon Richman. Great stuff for fans of the above as as even Bob Log, John Spencer, Quintron.

1) 12 bar garbage can/living room blues boogie, upbeat and fun, fades out 2) swingy exotica rhythm all about shyness, low self esteem, great (see also 12 below
3) smarmy feel, fun Jonathon Richmond feel comes through
4) garagey gospel blues feel with organ
5) spooky feel, hip grind, “it’s a hard job keeping everybody high”, pharma ref?
6) “Detroit music”, is this a spoof on the white stripes ilk? Rawkin wanky, with a Hendrix “if 6 were 9” riff
7) reprise of previous song, blends out of previous can be played togethe
8) title track, a psychey mantra chant and spoken word about music appreciation, tambourine only, weird sounds, silly
9) bouncey fun 60’s pop feel
10) soul funk tone, spooky, about “privilege”
11) “youth is wasted on the young, wealth is wasted on the rich”, sad love song, dark organ led, off key female vocs are genuine
12) version of 2 above with dubby echoey effects
13) strange silly about getting charged for kisses etc
14) 12 bar rock/blues, “why not”, relatively short

Track Listing
1. Why Not?   8. Music's Not For Everyone
2. Not Good Enough   9. Can't Get Away
3. For Practical Purposes (I Love You)   10. (I've Got) Privilege
4. Livin' Rough   11. Youth Is Wasted On The Young
5. It's A Hard, Hard Job (Keeping Everybody High)   12. Not Good Enogh (Dub)
6. Detroit Music   13. Bill For The Use Of A Body
7. Detroit Music Pt Ii   14. Why Not? Pt Ii