Quartet Music / Window On The Lake
Album: Window On The Lake   Collection:Jazz 12"
Artist:Quartet Music   Added:Mar 2011
Label:Nine Winds  

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 18, 2011: No Cover, No Minimum
Circular Thoughts In Darkness

Album Review
Reviewed 2011-03-18
1986 recording that shows a mellower side of Nels Cline, playing all acoustic guitar. This was a quartet led (sort of) by Eric Von Essen, the bassist and principal songwriter. Their sound overall is mellow, with a sweet violin as the lead voice, and you might hear similarities to the new agey stuff on Windham Hill or ECM ... but they're also willing to go into deep, untethered improvising for fairly long spells.

At first glance, this album doesn't seem to go as "out" as their other two (which aren't in the KZSU library) but it's still a nice journey.

Eric von Essen - bass
Nels Cline - acoustic guitar, recorder
Alex Cline - percussion
Jeff Gauthier - violin

Track Listing
1. Circular Thoughts In Darkness   4. Norton's Last Words
2. Zen Piece   5. Dead Leaves Dance
3. This Isn't Exactly What I Had In Mind When I Said "Let's Get Smashed Tonight"   6. Window On The Lake