White Suns / Waking In The Reservoir
Album: Waking In The Reservoir   Collection:General
Artist:White Suns   Added:Feb 2011
Label:Ugexplode Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2012-01-16 Pull Date: 2012-03-19 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Mar 18 Feb 26 Feb 12
Airplays: 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 18, 2013: The Sunset Life (Crescendo)
First Purge
4. Feb 20, 2012: Ghost Trees
Waking In The Reservoir
2. Mar 14, 2012: meow
First Purge
5. Feb 06, 2012: Ghost Trees
Waking In The Reservoir
3. Feb 23, 2012: Sound and Fury

Album Review
Reviewed 2012-01-09
Violent, dissonant, intense, tumultuous: words that describe this White Suns album. "Waking in the Reservoir" brings raw power to noise rock, as if Sonic Youth went a blood-soaked rampage. It would be easy to write this off as pure noise and thrash with no taste. However, close listening (at one's own peril!) reveals something more than skin deep, with precise and inventive drumming and noise experimentation on every track. While it takes a brave soul to listen, those who do are simultaneously assaulted and rewarded. FCC warning on track 5 (vocals are nearly indistinguishable throughout).

01. (2:59) * First Purge: Dissonant guitars, blast beats, and screaming.
02. (5:21) Harvest: Bass-intensive song, like stabbing a pencil into an overdriven subwoofer.
03. (2:39) Locus:
04. (4:07) * Skin Deep: Inventive drumming with relenting pockets of quiet inside the thrash. Ends on a squelch and 12 seconds of silence.
05. (3:36) [FCC WARNING] Voyeur: Guitar violence and busy drumming with some experimental noise in the middle.
06. (5:27) Waking in the Reservoir: Impending opening, slow and ominous. Guitar feedback and noise art experiments throughout, converging to straight feedback. No vocals.
07. (6:53) Bedsores: Downtempo but still not lacking fervor. Dueling guitars are more apparent.

Track Listing
1. First Purge   4. Skin Deep
2. Harvest   5. Voyeur
3. Locus   6. Waking In The Reservoir
  7. Bedsores