Beaten By Them / Invisible Origins
Album: Invisible Origins   Collection:General
Artist:Beaten By Them   Added:Feb 2011

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-02-20 Pull Date: 2011-04-24
Week Ending: Apr 3 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 27
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 27, 2011: kitty kill pony
4. Mar 08, 2011: The Crooked Spoke Adjacent
Damp Sky 1
2. Mar 16, 2011: Brownian Motion
Vanishing Point
5. Mar 01, 2011: Indie English
Final Sun
3. Mar 15, 2011: Ghost Trees
Skin Of The Snake, Nusla Nif
6. Feb 28, 2011: dream shoes
Nusla Nif

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-02-15
Post rock? Prog rock? Defying definition this shit hits on all cylinders and scratches all itches in the realm of improv, epic soaring all-instrumental rock, musicianship. Fans of Godspeed, Do Make Say Think, even a dash of Chicago artists like Albini’s Shellac. Cellos, pianos, the works. Really well played, epic dramatic yet playful in parts pieces. Killer.

1) shoegazy guitar theme but with urgent tribal drums and overdriven bassline, gets a tad post-rocky with the vibes toward the end
2) really cool launches into a heavy but sexy beat and fuzzy, chills a bit but maintains its drum centered heaviness
3) big long intro of sorts, epic feel foreshadowing something great with strumming and cymbal buildups, deep bass, somewhat cheesy melody then rhythm takes over unexpectedly
4) brief interlude of sounds
5) pleasant pleasing beat, rhythm, with dense instrumentation, all the joy of an early Stereolab or Neu without the krautrock trappings, recorder/flute keeps in childlike
6) heavy cello lends a somber feel despite positive guitar piano and drums, epic intense quick cold ending
7) very brief drums mostly interlude, arty is the intro to the next, play together
8) (play with previous) prog rockish fade in, then settles into a deep fuzzy bass and nice rhythm to fuck to, all cylinders, slightly long but worth it, fades out quick so be careful
9) begins with an emergency type signal, then an urgent tribal tom tom beat carries the day
10) based on a sexy hip swinging beat, things evolve slowly, the cello even joins in the fray as things evolve, wow!
11) shorter track, pretty cello and piano duo to start then all hell breaks loose and its epic, with everything crashing the party

Track Listing
1. Damp Sky 1   6. Water
2. Final Sun   7. Bird's-Eye View
3. Lost   8. Vanishing Point
4. Damp Sky 2   9. Destiny Manifest
5. Yo   10. Nusla Nif
  11. Skin Of The Snake