Pavone, Jessica / Army Of Strangers
Album: Army Of Strangers   Collection:General
Artist:Pavone, Jessica   Added:Feb 2011
Label:Porter Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-02-13 Pull Date: 2011-04-17
Week Ending: Apr 10 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 17, 2015: Home on the Range
Cast Of Characters
4. Mar 09, 2011: Brownian Sub-mission
Cast Of Characters
2. Apr 09, 2011: Music Casserole
There Won't Be Walking In The Daylight
5. Mar 06, 2011: anti-heroine: digitalization
Cast Of Characters
3. Mar 16, 2011: Brownian Motion
Sink Hole
6. Mar 05, 2011: Music Casserole
April Is Over

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2011-02-08
Porter (godhead!) Records brings us NYC female artist who puts together an altogether rock, prog dissonant ensemble that’s epic and rings of the heavy works of Soft Machine, King Crimson, and prog rock in the vein of MX-80 Sound. All instrumental, each track goes through moods and drama. Lots of it is heavy and certainly earns the moniker “prog rock”. But this isn’t full on genre specific. Its actually just pleasant good rock, almost indie rock. All instrumental and very pretty at times. Could be slipped into any set on kzsu at all right now, world, jazz, indie rock, experimental, jesus, name it.

1) multifaceted and dramatic, heavy and intense in the breaks with big drums
2) grows intense and dischordant, guitar and rocking!
3) slower and slightly more chill, violin takes center in a mostly minor tone
4) somewhat mellower, goes through drama
5) stop go and heavy vs chill, violin starts really smacking of KC, well recorded and perfect
6) Soft Machine’esque synth (or is that a fuzz bass?!), cool and dark sorta and proggy at its best
7) introspective violin led for sure, very lush and layered, pretty but at the same time dissonant, dramatic and epic, heavy
8) slower near waltz for most part, violin takes the lead while a very interesting soundbed that uses dissonance doesn’t fail, but then after ~4minutes the track breaks down and picks back up, upbeat
9) kinda of a stop go thing, sounds like a cover of something familiar but it isn’t
10) rock guitar to start with drums, again a multifaceted dramatic prog masterpiece

Track Listing
1. Cast Of Characters   6. Sink Hole
2. Tired Soul   7. Apparently, I'm Sitll Bleeding
3. April Is Over   8. There Won't Be Walking In The Daylight
4. Don't Cross My Moon   9. A Piece Has Been Released
5. Karmic Deservation   10. Really?