Robinson, Jason / Two Faces Of Janus, The
Album: Two Faces Of Janus, The   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Robinson, Jason   Added:Jan 2011
Label:Cuneiform Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-04-10 Pull Date: 2011-06-12 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jun 12 May 29 May 22 May 8 May 1 Apr 24 Apr 17
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 07, 2011: Rebop
Persephone's Scream
4. May 07, 2011: Music Casserole
Huaca Del Sol
2. May 28, 2011: Music Casserole
Return To Pacasmayo
5. May 03, 2011: Rebop
Cerberus Reigning
3. May 17, 2011: Child's Play
Cerberus Reigning
6. Apr 26, 2011: Rebop
Persephone's Scream

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2011-04-07
Saxophonist / composer Jason Robinson has made a terrific album covering a spectrum of jazz styles, ranging from “easy on the ears” to somewhat more challenging and dissonant.

Nothing is especially avant-garde, but some pieces (Nos 2, 4, 5, 7, 9) will appeal to jazz aficionados and some (Nos 1, 3, 6) to more casual jazz fans.

No FCC issues.

1 * Begins as a showcase for the electric guitar; then shifts to a dialog between the tenor and alto saxes. Extended melodic improvisations from each. Sophisticated and catchy. Drum break in middle. (10:22)
2 * Opens with just drums, add the bass. Mid tempo and very spare at first. In a minute or so, two saxes enter. By midway, it gets wild: electric guitar, two saxes and the bass clarinet all weave melodies. (10:57)
3 ** A smaller group this time. Terrific tenor sax improv; guitar noodles along on his own. Drumming is outstanding too. (6:14)
4 Harsh, atonal. Tenor sax and bass clarinet do battle with short bursts of notes. This is about rhythm rather than melody. Good if you like your jazz a bit more “challenging.” (3:50)
5 * Pleasing improv on guitar, punctuated by harsh chords from the reeds. Next, saxes and bass clarinet play slow. It gradually picks up pace. All play a joyful cacophony to the end. (10:17)
6. ** Bass solo to start. In a minute, the tenor sax and drums enter and set a very quick tempo. Cool guitar solo midway. The most straightforward, “jazzy” piece here. Very likable. (8:10)
7. ** But for a cool bass solo early and a classy guitar solo late, this one belongs to the two saxes. They play against one another and take long solos. Dizzyingly fast. Astonishing piece. (9:24)
8. Classy and classic. Straight ahead jazz on sax, upright bass and drums, as you’ve heard it done for decades. Quite well done, but the least surprising or innovative thing here. (3:39)
9. * Soprano sax and bass clarinet only (no guitar, bass, drums). Fascinating modal sound. At times beautiful, at times harsh, always interesting. Very creative. (4:01)
10. * Though an original composition, sounds like it could be a 60s standard. Straight, classic jazz on tenor sax, with the guitar, bass and drums simply accompanying him. It's sort of a suite: the first three parts are as described, the 4th has a sweet (think Joe Pass) guitar solo, and the 5th has a drum solo. (9:03)

Track Listing
1. Return To Pacasmayo   6. Cerberus Reigning
2. The Two Faces Of Janus   7. Persephone's Scream
3. The Elders   8. Paper Tiger
4. Huaca De La Luna   9. Huaca Del Sol
5. Tides Of Cosciousness Fading   10. The Twelfth Labor