Naked And Famous, The / Passive Me - Aggressive You
Album: Passive Me - Aggressive You   Collection:General
Artist:Naked And Famous, The   Added:Dec 2010
Label:Somewhat Damaged  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-07-10 Pull Date: 2011-09-11
Week Ending: Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 21 Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24 Jul 17
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 4 3 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 22, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Girls Like You
4. Jun 03, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Girls Like You
2. Jun 30, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Girls Like You
5. Oct 11, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Mar 8, 2019)
Girls Like You
3. Oct 21, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Punching In A Dream
6. Sep 24, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Girls Like You

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2011-06-28
“Passive Me • Aggressive You” The Naked and Famous
The Naked and Famous is a five-person band from New Zealand with a debut electro pop CD that’s like The xx on some tracks, and perhaps MGMT on others. Part of the band’s xx appeal is the interplay between the two lead vocalists, Thom Power and Alisa Xayalith. (I don’t know which one is “naked” and which is “famous”.) While there are several hooky pop pieces that may not be your cup of tea, there are also more edgy tracks that separate The Naked and Famous from other formula techno pop bands.
— Francis

Recommended: 4/5 (play together), 3, 13, 2, 7, 11, 13 FCC “f-ckin’ habits” on track 1

1. (3:55) FCC (“f-ckin’”) Driving electronic beat. Female lead with male harmonies. *
2. (3:58) Bright synth flavor. Opens with “raindrops” and wave-like noise. Playful electro pop. High female vocals. ***
3. (3:46) Builds into harder edge. Very reminiscent of The xx, with overlapping male and female vocals in places. Noisy synths throughout. ***
4. (0:48) Light, electric piano — serves as intro to track 5.
5. (3:57) Drama builds from piano intro on track 4 (play together), with electric piano continuing — supported by synth layers, breathy vocals, and an intriguing rhythm track. Growling guitar in lead breaks. ****
6. (4:43) Waves of synth chords roll over non-descript pop standard.
7. (4:07) A ringing celebration. Clangy, echoey synth — like big guitar notes. Strong backbeat. High male and female vocals. Hooky pop. ***
8. (5:30) Soft, acoustic-like feeling at the start. Easy female vocals. Then, with a crunch and rush of synths, the tune surges forward. Add echo effect on soft vocals, rinse and repeat. **
9. (4:10) Fuzzy, glitchy synth and vocals sounding like they were squeezed through a filter. Mostly female lead.
10. (3:16) Swirling synths alternate between soft and loud, light and heavy. Airy female vocals.
11. (3:14) Trippy. Lots of noise and feedback. Over-the-top edgy, scratching synths. Driving beat. Airy female vocals, background whispers. ***
12. (1:49) Soft, floating, space-like quality. Citrcular, repetitious vocal, “It’s all about to end at last.”
13. (6:04) Big finish. Starts with clock-like beat, adds layers as the song builds in intensity. Male vocals with female counterpoint. Long church-like organ trailout. ***

Track Listing
1. All Of This   7. Young Blood
2. Punching In A Dream   8. No Way
3. Frayed   9. Spank
4. The Source   10. Jilted Lovers
5. The Sun   11. A Wolf In Geek's Clothing
6. Eyes   12. The Ends
  13. Girls Like You