Wolf People / Steeple
Album: Steeple   Collection:General
Artist:Wolf People   Added:Nov 2010

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-04-03 Pull Date: 2011-06-05
Week Ending: May 8 Apr 24 Apr 10
Airplays: 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 17, 2018: Everything A to Z Week 148
Tiny Circle, Silbury Sands
4. Jan 08, 2015: New Zoo Emergency Crew
Silbury Sands
2. Dec 11, 2017: Everything A to Z week 114
One By One From Dorney Reach, Cormlech
5. Dec 23, 2014: eclectic erudition week 13 fall 14 Christmas Carol mix
Silbury Sands
3. Dec 14, 2015: Everything A to Z week 23
Silbury Sands
6. May 06, 2011: Aural Surgery

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2011-03-25
Wolf People is a four-piece out of the UK and has that prog rock sound of Yes, that spacey, rocking sound of Wishbone Ash, and a heavy metal sound to boot. But it’s also funky, bluesy and jazzy as well. Great instrumental phrases throughout. Recorded in a converted chicken barn in Wales. Some really cool stuff here. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: 1, 2, 5, 6, 7.

1. *(5:19) Mid. Ominous drone beginning, then psychedelic guitar. Kicks into a killer groove. Stop and start phrases. Epic and ethereal.
2. *(5:10) Mid. Flute, drum lead in. Kick-ass beat, funky, retro. Strong guitar and drum presence. Quiet coda with percussion and guitar.
3. (3:24) Mid. Funky and rocking. Some wailing guitar, great steady drumbeat. Noise and voice ending.
4. (4:09) Slow / Mid. Vocal and guitar intro, then guitar-driven phrase. Mellow band takes it from there. Bleeds into next song.
5. *(3:17) Mid. Picks up from previous song with heavy instrumentation. Spacey and rocking, guitar showcase with drum galore in the background. Far out. INSTRUMENTAL.
6. *(5:36) Mid. Distorted guitar with drums. Heavy metal. Funky. Just a bit of spaghetti western sound. Killer. Kick ass.
7. *(7:34) Mid. Alternates between sparse phrases and more fuller, rocking phrases. Cool guitar parts as well as heavy drumming.
8. (3:28) Slow / Mid. Very Yes sounding. Dramatic, spacey.
9. (5:11) Slow / Mid. This is Part 2 of song #8 but stands alone as well. Ethereal, spacey. Rocking in places, quite dramatic.

Track Listing
1. Silbury Sands   5. Cormlech
2. Tiny Circle   6. One By One From Dorney Reach
3. Painted Cross   7. Castle Keep
4. Morning Born   8. Banks Of Sweet Dundee Pt 1
  9. Banks Of Sweet Dundee Pt 2