Lyrics Born / As U Were
Album: As U Were   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Lyrics Born   Added:Nov 2010

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-11-07 Pull Date: 2011-01-09 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: Jan 9 Jan 2 Dec 26 Dec 19 Dec 12 Dec 5 Nov 28 Nov 21
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 3 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 01, 2017: Waste FM
Coulda Woulda Shoulda
4. Jul 29, 2012: New World Disorder
We Live By The Beat
2. Jul 28, 2013: New World Disorder
We Live By The Beat
5. Sep 02, 2011: Wee Animalcules
Coulda Woulda Shoulda, We Live By The Beat
3. Nov 25, 2012: MHz Broadcast 11.11.12
Coulda Woulda Shoulda
6. Feb 23, 2011: NickAndNoah: TheRadioShow
Coulda Woulda Shoulda

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-11-05
Lyrics Born – As You Were
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/5/10
Old school Hip Hop beats with Lyrics Born’s rhythmic rapping. For those few who aren’t familiar with him yet, Lyrics Born is a Japanese-American from the Bay Area. Most FCC violations are lifted out, although it’s pretty clear what they were. A couple were missed, and track 10 has a chorus that sounds exactly like big fat FUCKIN over and over…
Actual FCC violations on 8 and 13 (skits). I love 1, 3, 4 most.
1. 3:32 ****old school, almost verging on disco sound (think Sugarhill or Kurtis Blow), but really good… Goes right into next track.
2. 3:37 ***midtempo old school sound with theramin sounds, love song.
3. 4:14 ****very disco sounding (esp. the chorus) – and no question it’s a dance song, but what a great beat! Ends with tinkly piano.
4. 4:40 ****more great old school funky sound. This reminds me of great times I never even had… Lyrics Born’s skill at creating counterpoint rhythm with his rap really shines on this one.
5. 0:53 VERY silly skit about getting past the secretary for an interview.
6. 5:44 *downtempo syncopated drum and chimes groove, vocals processed through mic, terribly pretty female vocals, strings. Very angst-ridden. Some folks will relate to this a lot better than I do, I think…
7. 4:23 ***starts out kinda Euro-80’s… And stays that way, but with a big dose of funkiness. It’s not groundshakingly new, but it sounds good, dammit.
8. 2:02 FCC: “whatever the fuck” “shit” more skit – actually pretty funny, interview with a freaky music exec selling cereal…
9. 4:11 ***funky beat and tinkly keyboard chords, deep-voiced singing. Soul/funk – and maybe a bit toegaze, even. But Lyrics Born does that rhythm rap thing, and it turns out much better than it had any right to…
10. 3:28 Warning!!! “You ain’t funky like me” repeated in chorus, which sounds EXACTLY like total FCC violation. Keep that in mind, ok? It’s great, otherwise. ****Just beats and boops and crazy rapping full of proper braggadocio.
11. 3:09 **sort of hard rock rap, more braggadocio.
12. 3:02 ***old school beats and claps. Guest rappers (who mostly serve to make Lyrics Born sound better, IMO…)
13. 0:55 FCC: “oh fuck it.” skit, going through pills. Lots of pills.
14. 4:25 ***chanting intro, low-key beat and rap, feat Gift of Gab. Catchy goofy chorus.
15. 3:44 ***very hip-shaky beat with stuttering keyboards and processed vocal chorus. Cuts off suddenly half a minute from end and comes back to slow fade.

Track Listing
1. Kontrol Phreak   8. Born-E-Oh's!
2. I Wanna B W/U   9. Pushed Aside/Pulled Apart
3. We Live By The Beat   10. Oh, Baby!
4. Coulda Woulda Shoulda   11. I'm The Best (Funky Fresh In The Flesh)
5. As U Were Reception   12. Block Bots
6. I've Lost Myself   13. Pillz 'lude
7. Lies X 3   14. Pillz
  15. Something Better