Up, Ari / Dread More Dan Dead
Album: Dread More Dan Dead   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Up, Ari   Added:Nov 2010
Label:Collision Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-11-07 Pull Date: 2011-01-09 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jan 2 Dec 26 Dec 19 Dec 12 Dec 5 Nov 28 Nov 21 Nov 14
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 3 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 30, 2012: New World Disorder
Me Done
4. Jan 15, 2011: New World Disorder
Kill Em With Love
2. Jun 09, 2012: New World Disorder
Can't Share
5. Jan 12, 2011: Brownian Motion
Allergic Feat. Terranova
3. Apr 30, 2011: Music Casserole
Me Done
6. Jan 09, 2011: the last seductardation of esquire
Me Done

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-11-05
Ari Up – Dread More Dan Dead
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/5/10
Modern Dancehall from the Slits vocalist/queen of European punk-reggae. Unique and original sounds, lyrics that often come from a rather unusual angle. Ari died a couple of weeks ago at this writing, and I ran out and got this very belatedly – we should have had it in the collection from jump. It kills.
Clear FCCs in track 12, AFTER the vocal-only version ends. MIGHT be one on track 2 – I can’t tell!
1. 3:43 ***uptempo syncopated dancehall.
2. 3:29 FCC? Fucking? I’ve listend to it several times and can’t really tell whether that’s what she says or not…****midtempo guitar-based dancehall, vocal warblings, great sound.
3. 3:59 *spoken diatribe intro, midtempo electronic dancehall. Odd trance-y electronic sounds kind of detract from the sound, IMO.
4. 5:12 ****bouncy midtempo electronic dancehall skank with woobles. Same vocals as on the Noiseshaper song, but totally different music – I love the other version, but I think I like this one even more…
5. 4:00 ***bit of patois chatting intro, cool syncopated dancehall, female take on the rather horrible 60’s hit “Young Girl”.
6. 3:43 FCC: “shit” (I think…) ***male vocal diatribe intro, midtempo electronic dancehall with interesting added musical elements, guest male dancehall rap.
7. 4:34 ****bloopy, rather lounge-y/clubby, swingy skank, very sweet sung vocals. Different, but very cool.
8. 3:57 ***slow super-dub morphing into punk reggae with heavy guitar. Vicious lyrics, but KILLER bass.
9. 3:56 ****slow bass heavy dub, almost whispered vocals.
10. 4:14 ***high-pitched pwings and odd vocals, then slow skank, true talk.
11. 6:14 ***Instrumental (extended) version of track one – fine uptempo syncopated dancehall.
12. 9:22 FCC – “shit” right at vocal intro to second part of track, “fucking” in the middle of the punk number. **vocal-only of track 4. Diatribe about the pointlessness of relationships with men, lots of echo on lead vocal, bits of chanted background vocals. lasts for 4:27, then a couple of seconds later she says “punky reggae shit” and launches into pretty much pure punk rock about grownups. Which is great stuff, too, except for clear FCCs.

Track Listing
1. Baby Mother   7. Kill Em With Love
2. True Warrior   8. Allergic Feat. Terranova
3. Exterminator   9. Can't Share
4. Me Done   10. Can't Trust The Majority Mass
5. Young Boy   11. Baby Mother (Instrumental)
6. Bashment Feat. I.A. Lewis   12. Me Done (Vocal Only)