Warpaint / Fool, The
Album: Fool, The   Collection:General
Artist:Warpaint   Added:Oct 2010
Label:Rough Trade Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-11-14 Pull Date: 2011-01-16
Week Ending: Jan 16 Jan 9 Jan 2 Dec 26 Dec 19 Dec 12 Dec 5 Nov 28
Airplays: 9 5 3 1 3 4 5 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 28, 2021: deep storage no. 100 - my top songs 2010-2020
4. Apr 09, 2015: Meow
2. May 19, 2016: radio seven
5. Feb 27, 2015: Distractions
3. Oct 23, 2015: A Visit From Drum (Sleep Dealer)
6. Nov 07, 2012: The Paint

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-11-04
Ethereal indie rock. Dreamlike, swirling guitars and reverberating vocals abound. Music driven by the often moaning voice and steady bass line. All tracks are mid-tempo unless otherwise noted. Reminiscent of Jeff Buckley’s ‘Grace’, Cocteau Twins, Bat for Lashes. FCC Clean. Try 2, 4
1.Halting bass line leads track. Ominous, foggy instrumentation.
2.15s of silence in opening. Marching band drums, arpeggiated guitar chords, awesome vocal play between singers, perfectly timed meter changes- great!
3.Single. Bass driven, dreamy track. Kind of changes mood halfway through
4.Drum pad + drum kit = awesome. Less misty and dream like, more like post punk. Heavy bass line, almost angry. Weird, playback outro.
5.Opens with acoustic guitar line, then mutates into an aching affair with howled chorus and lonely, plucking verses.
6.Opens w/chorus line yelled in background. Repetitive. Scattered guitar line Interesting syncopated beats and changes in meter in drums.
7.Slow. Sappy acoustic song. Vocal harmonies halfway through min 2.
8.Starts slow and builds- takes off at 2:22. Electronic sound effects. Halting bass line. Not terribly exciting. 15s of silence at end.
9.Piano line opens track, backbone of the song. Very scattered, experimental song. Chorus sounds like it’s being sung underwater. Sudden ending.

Track Listing
1. Set Your Arms Down   5. Shadows
2. Warpaint   6. Composure
3. Undertow   7. Baby
4. Bees   8. Majesty
  9. Lissie's Heart Murmur