Munly & The Lupercalians / Petr & The Wulf
Album: Petr & The Wulf   Collection:General
Artist:Munly & The Lupercalians   Added:Oct 2010
Label:Alternative Tentacles Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-02-13 Pull Date: 2011-04-17
Week Ending: Apr 17 Apr 10 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20
Airplays: 4 4 1 2 1 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 07, 2022: The Songsmith Show (rebroadcast from May 11, 2012)
4. Jul 06, 2021: The Songsmith Show (rebroadcast from May 11, 2012)
2. Feb 22, 2022: The Songsmith Show (rebroadcast from May 11, 2012)
5. Sep 26, 2014: The Songsmith Show Finale
3. Jan 02, 2022: The Songsmith Show (rebroadcast from May 11, 2012)
6. May 23, 2014: The Songsmith Show

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2011-02-04
Munly & The Lupercalians have created, dare I say, as near a masterpiece as can be. Petr & The Wulf is, as the one-sheet says, ‘the correct telling of a story about which most have been woefully misinformed’. Munly & The Lupewrcalians contain members of Slim Cessna’s Auto Club (recent A-File) and Lee Lewis Harlots. Munly plays banjo, which predominates throughout, and is backed by bass, drums, keys. The sound is quite unique with elements of country and rock, as well as some eastern sounds thrown in. This album is an instant hit with me. No FCC’s.

*My Favorites*: All songs, with heavy recommendations for 6 and 8.

1. (5:02) Mid. Slow, atmospheric start, then banjo and band. Brooding and dark, yet driving and upbeat.
2. (4:38) Mid. Cool banjo backed by piano and drums. Great, prophetic lyrics introducing Petr.
3. (5:38) Mid / Fast. ~1 minute intro, then begins the story of Grandfather being shut in by Petr. Heavy lyrical stuff here. ~1 minute outro.
4. (5:05) Mid. A lighter mood here, musically, yet dark lyrics still persist.
5. (6:34) Slow / Mid. Really catchy phrases, about the cat feeling human.
6. (4:19) Mid / Fast. Organ / banjo intro, claps. ‘duck, duck, goose’ chant. Kick ass, upbeat tune. About the duk feeling scared then content inside the wulf.
7. (8:18) Slow / Mid / Fast. Droning intro, then band joins in. The story of the three hunters, a la the three kings. They introduce themselves their help for the inhabitants. A mix of western and eastern sounds.
8. (8:11) Mid / Fast. Holy hell almighty! Reminiscent of Nick Cave’s ‘Saint Huck’ or ‘Papa Won’t Leave You Henry’ (check out those songs!!) this epic is delivered, mostly, as a spoken word spewing of venom by the Wulf. Driving and maddening, the instrumentation melds with the lyrics in a defining of everything told before in the album. Frightening, terrifying, alarming...beautiful!!

Track Listing
1. Scarewulf   5. Cat
2. Petr   6. Duk
3. Grandfater   7. Three Wise Hunters
4. Bird   8. Wulf