Young, Neil / Le Noise
Album: Le Noise   Collection:General
Artist:Young, Neil   Added:Oct 2010
Label:Reprise Records (Modern)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-11-28 Pull Date: 2011-01-30
Week Ending: Jan 30 Jan 16 Jan 9 Jan 2 Dec 19 Dec 12 Dec 5
Airplays: 2 1 1 4 2 7 8

Recent Airplay
1. May 09, 2013: catharsis
Walk With Me
4. Oct 10, 2011: Persephone's Return
2. Apr 04, 2013: Daydream Disaster
Someone's Gonna Rescue You
5. May 22, 2011: Songs; Cantan?
Walk With Me
3. Jul 05, 2012: Catharsis
6. May 14, 2011: Music Casserole
Peaceful Valley Boulevard

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-11-22
Young and producer Daniel Lanois (Le Noise, get it?) bring this solo Neil + effects album – part (very) electric, part acoustic – to life with some damned fine songs and muscular playing and singing. Sorry to play the part of the geezer reviewing the even-more-geezer rock star’s album, but holy shit, there are some extraordinarily vital and assertive songs, playing, and singing here. There’s also on YouTube a lush, mostly B&W, video that goes with this album.

1. Power-chording and echoed vocals give way eventually to feedback
2. One of the noisier love ballads (non-power ballad category) you will hear
3. Another non-pretty ballad, with some unexpected melodic turns
4. Quieter, self-referential song about the ravages of war on the families of those who fight them
5. Resigned statement of fact – it’s an angry world
6. Personal history of travel, fame, drugs used, and perseverance
7. Throwback folky anthem
8. Self-accusatory “When will I learn to give back” over simple tune

Track Listing
1. Walk With Me   5. Angry World
2. Sign Of Love   6. Hitchhiker
3. Someone's Gonna Rescue You   7. Peaceful Valley Boulevard
4. Love And War   8. Rumblin'