Matta Gawa / Ba
Album: Ba   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Matta Gawa   Added:Sep 2010
Label:Engine Studios  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-11-14 Pull Date: 2011-01-16 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Dec 19 Nov 21
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 17, 2011: &tc.
Bas Of Re
3. Nov 20, 2010: Music Casserole
Is A Ba Among You
2. Dec 18, 2010: Music Casserole
Is A Ba Among You

Album Review
Reviewed 2010-11-13
Engine Studio, 2010

FREE JAZZ/ROCK – Yowza. Crunchy, low-fi, balls-out recording of freely improvised mindfuck duets: guitar (with a crapload of effects and electronics piled on) flies through the wormhole while restless drums flop like a net full of dying fish under ceaseless waves of cymbals. Woof. Could work for psych, experimental, or avant-jazz sets.

Edward Ricart ; guitar, effects
Sam Lohman : drums

Fo’s Picks: um… aw hell, try any track.

1. 13:16 – submerged psychedelic guitar wails through prisms of efx as drums bash away; false ending about 7:00 in, tweaked-out electronics take charge in the second half
2. 4:41 – warped bleeps, subdued guitar builds up slowly, distant drum rumble
3. 8:15 – rises out of mud & molasses; crazed drums, guitar efx zap & spray
4. 13:09 – ominous gearshift drone, detuned loops; crests, ebbs, crests again, splinters into reverb noise around 11:00 in, then just dies at the end
5. 4:58 – hallucinatory loops, spare drums gradually drift into sci-fi madness
6. 9:59 – relatively normal guitar at first, then a slow-motion fall into another dimension; quiet stretch before freaky oscillation; drums stay busy.
7. 1:50 – wide open: little gleepy pew-pew tones, minimal drum accents

[ Fo ] 11/13/10

Track Listing
1. Your Ba Will Not Abandon Your Corpse   4. Dialogue Of A Man With His Ba
2. Izezi And His Ba   5. Is A Ba Among You
3. Bas Of Re   6. Your Ba Is Within You
  7. My Ba Cannot Be Kept From My Corpse