Black Angels, The / Phosphene Dream
Album: Phosphene Dream   Collection:General
Artist:Black Angels, The   Added:Sep 2010
Label:Blue Horizon Records Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-09-26 Pull Date: 2010-11-28
Week Ending: Nov 28 Nov 21 Nov 14 Nov 7 Oct 31 Oct 24 Oct 17 Oct 10
Airplays: 4 4 4 4 7 4 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 11, 2020: The Library
Entrance Song
4. Oct 31, 2018: The Library
Haunting At 1300 Mckinley
2. Jan 29, 2020: The Library
Entrance Song
5. Jul 25, 2018: The Library
Entrance Song
3. Jan 09, 2019: The Library
Entrance Song
6. Aug 02, 2017: The Library
Entrance Song

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-09-23
Black Angels – Phosphene Dream
Reviewed by Sadie O., 9/23/10
Psychedelic garage rock, a little Velvets, a little 60’s, even a little Floyd. Great stuff (everything – awesome), jangly guitars, psychically disturbing effects, distorted and hypnotic vocals. Third record (happily we have them all), outa Austin.
No FCCs detected – I really couldn’t make out much of the lyrics.
1. 4:27 ***(starts at 3 seconds) jangly, disturbed vibrations, monotonal vocals. Very Velvety. Suddenly crashes and goes into hyperdrive a minute from end.
2. 2:24 ***jangly guitar, almost bluesy. Garage rock, swaggering simple format, as it should be.
3. 4:57 *** midtempo psychedelic garage rock, swingy and cool. It’s always a bit startling when they actually modulate, as they do it so rarely. Cool guitar and farfisa solos. This one actually reminds me a bit of Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds…
4. 2:44 **** weebly vibrations and frug-a-go-go. Super extra groovy!
5. 3:58 ** bit of feedback, then very loud aggressive rock with whammy bar, which fades to more Velvety sound when singing starts. Gets chaotically noisy towards end.
6. 3:39 **** Steppenwolfish guitar, robotish vocals. Neet! Also a hint of Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun…
7. 3:42 ***rock and roll, but on both heroin and cosmic insights. Vibrations, screams….
8. 4:33 **very low vibrations, very gradually growing for first half minute, then strumming of maybe a mandolin, pretty vocals, rather folky, until the usual druggy garage stuff after about a minute and a half. Whoohoo, they say! Then ominous didgeridoo kinda sounds, very slow, toward end, long fade.
9. 1:59 ***soft folky bit for a few seconds, then sort of surfer psych. Fun. You CAN twist to this.
10. 3:54 ***stoned slow psych blues, with lot o’ whammy. Slide solo, turning into something totally awesome in many directions.
Sadly, the record eventually comes to an end…

Track Listing
1. Bad Vibrations   6. Entrance Song
2. Haunting At 1300 Mckinley   7. Phosphene Dream
3. Yellow Elevator #2   8. True Believers
4. Sunday Afternoon   9. Telephone
5. River Of Blood   10. The Sniper