Jarrett, Keith & Charlie Haden / Jasmine
Album: Jasmine   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Jarrett, Keith & Charlie Haden   Added:Sep 2010
Label:Ecm Records (Jazz)  

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 05, 2022: training test
4. Jan 15, 2016: Rebop
I'm Gonna Laugh You Right Out Of My Life, One Day I'll Fly Away
2. Oct 21, 2016: Rebop
Where Can I Go Without You, One Day I'll Fly Away
5. Dec 04, 2015: Rebop
Body And Soul
3. Mar 25, 2016: Rebop
Body And Soul
6. Nov 24, 2015: Clean Copper Radio
Body And Soul

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2012-03-03
Beautiful readings of old love songs with only grand piano and upright bass. These two jazz titans haven’t recorded together for 35 years, since Haden was in Jarrett’s 1970s American quartet. Very mellow, so not for every occasion; but perfect for certain occasions (which could include a special person, a fireplace & a bottle of wine). Objectively, these tracks are very similar: slow to mid tempo, Jarrett leading with minimal accompaniment on bass, till Haden takes a chorus in the second half. All tracks are very fine, so I’ve had to magnify the differences (especially the minor criticisms) in order to recommend the best of the best.

All instrumental. No FCC issues.

1 * Slow. Beautiful & sophisticated. Almost Classical in its precision, and like Classical perhaps falling short on emotion. (9:49)

2 ** Medium slow with some swing. Compared to #1, a bit jazzier, a little more sparkle, and with more of a pop-song melody. We get some of Jarrett’s signature vocal groaning. (9:25)

3 *** Mid tempo. Fun and happy, with syncopation and some nifty flourishes. (4:42)

4 *** Very slow. Just exquisite. Again and again Jarrett sustains a stressed note, then resolves the phrase so perfectly, it’s enough to make you sigh. Wonderful. (4:19)

5 ** Slow to start; picks up pace a bit. Despite the length, its varying structure, texture and mood makes this interesting. There’s an extensive (2 min) & expressive bass solo. (12:12)

6 *** Mid slow. Brilliant, unusual take on this famous jazz standard. Laid back but with moments of showiness. Lots of rhythm and texture, with just hints of the melody. (11:13)

7 * Slow. Straight approach that some may like. Meanders some and didn’t quite move me. (8:04)

8 ** Slow. Beautiful. Kern/Hammerstein song. Choose this to get a small sample. (3:11)

Track Listing
1. For All We Know   5. I'm Gonna Laugh You Right Out Of My Life
2. Where Can I Go Without You   6. Body And Soul
3. No Moon At All   7. Goodbye
4. One Day I'll Fly Away   8. Don't Ever Leave Me