Perry, Lee "Scratch" / Revelation
Album: Revelation   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Perry, Lee "Scratch"   Added:Aug 2010
Label:Megawave Corporation  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-08-29 Pull Date: 2010-10-31 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Oct 31 Oct 24 Oct 17 Oct 10 Oct 3 Sep 26 Sep 19 Sep 12
Airplays: 3 1 3 1 2 4 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 12, 2014: the springfield law review
Books Of Moses
4. Jan 01, 2011: New World Disorder
Freaky Michael
2. Apr 29, 2011: Nick&Noah vs Real&Chance
Scary Politicians
5. Nov 20, 2010: New World Disorder
Let There Be Light
3. Apr 23, 2011: Music Casserole
Scary Politicians
6. Oct 30, 2010: New World Disorder
Holy Angels

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-08-26
Lee Scratch Perry – Revelation
Reviewed by Sadie O., 8/26/10
The dub and madness that only Scratch can do. Great riddims, voyages inside the singular brain of Scratch – and guest appearances by Keef and Clinton. We’ve heard these things from Scratch before, so I suppose this is no real revelation – so what? The riddims are great and the vocals are insane. Yay!
No FCCs on this one – whew! I like 3, 5, 7, 11, 13 best – but all are great.
1. 5:39 ***electronic thunder, then slow slinky skank with laid-back female backing vocals, demented preaching.
2. 4:48 ***announcement from Scratch, then rather uptempo jaunty riddim. Scratch tells us WE are mentally ill? Hooray!
3. 4:45 ****super groovy uptempo rockin’ ska with electronic lizards and schizophrenic party invitations. Plus! The FBI won’t be there!
4. 4:40 ***squeebles, then lovely downtempo roots groove with lots of happy sounds. Only the very BEST angels are invited.
5. 4:45 *****deeply frightening vocal intro, buzzes and jolly vocals – George Clinton adds his own madness.
6. 4:45 ***Scratch converses with a psychotic German robot, but then there’s swingy relaxed dancing and deranged preaching, so it’s all good. Stops dead and grunts a few times here and there.
7. 5:13 ****Scratch tells Moses where to go. Very groovy, swingy, bluesy downtempo stepping razor riddim (lots due to guest Keef Richards.) Ends 16 secs. early with low whooshing sounds….
8. 4:59 ***wind chimes for 18 secs, slowly taking shape into nice bouncy midtempo riddim. Scratch expresses his issues with money and California.
9. 4:33 ***hello! Downtempo bouncy groove starts about 20 seconds in, with random sounds and maybe a bit of scratching. Points for rhyming Psalm with Shazam.
10. 4:23 ***ducks? Ah. Boo Evil. OK. Suddenly, totally cool midtempo riddim, female backing vocals. Stops with several seconds of very faint ducks midway through.
11. 3:58 ****freaky. Downtempo, relaxed, but nuts. What’s with Michael’s nose? OH! THAT Michael! (slapping forehead)
12. 4:20 ***very nice bluesy, slightly uptempo gallop.
13. 4:26 ***blooples, cool downtempo wiggle, grunty and groovy and totally happy-making. (FCC warning –faint orgasmic sounds)

Track Listing
1. Revelation Revolution And Evolution   7. Books Of Moses
2. Used To Drive A Tractor In Negrille   8. Money Come And Money Go
3. Fire Power   9. Psalm
4. Holy Angels   10. Run For Cover
5. Scary Politicians   11. Freaky Michael
6. Let There Be Light   12. Weatherman
  13. An Eye For An Eye