Hoop, Jesca / Hunting My Dress
Album: Hunting My Dress   Collection:General
Artist:Hoop, Jesca   Added:Aug 2010
Label:Vanguard Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-10-24 Pull Date: 2010-12-26
Week Ending: Dec 26 Dec 12 Nov 14 Nov 7 Oct 31
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 24, 2015: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Four Dreams
4. Feb 03, 2011: Buford J. Sharkley's Auditory Aviary
Murder Of Birds
2. Jul 10, 2014: Binders Full of Sopranos
Murder Of Birds
5. Dec 23, 2010: And Other Useful Bibles
The Kingdom
3. Mar 15, 2011: &tc. (sub for Indie English)
Murder Of Birds
6. Dec 11, 2010: Music Casserole
Murder Of Birds

Album Review
tina hanae
Reviewed 2010-10-27
Jesca Hoop is an experimental female singer-songwriter in the same line as Deradoorian of The Dirty Projectors, a less electronic Imogen Heap, or Bat For Lashes. Hunting My Dress is filled with a variety of different rhythmic songs and ballads that take from natural influences, borrow from Celtic music lines, and general folksiness. It's a really interesting new female singer-songwriter on the experimental indie field, and this album really grows on you.
FCC: 7 Try: 6, 2

1) Whippoorwill-vocal intro, eery Bat For Lashes-esque dark voice-driven piece
* 2) Imogen Hep + slow Yeasayer beat, medieval
3) Punchy percussion, rubber band electric guitar, capricious muffled vox, Rent-ish fast pace interlude, and Feist-ish sighs, repetitive
4) Soft, echo, heady vocals really really gradually leads into trashcan dissonant chorus
5) Cuckoo vox, punchy drums, more dissonant rubberband electric guitar
* 6) Dirty Projectors "Two Doves"-ish, quickly rising/falling vox, with soft male harmony, wandering rhythm, sing-speaky, then slows down into a really warm folksy chorus, repeats.
7) FCC "L.A. is hot as fuck" (train beat again, but dark, talky vox)
8) offbeat punchy percussion, updown meandering vocals, nursery gothic rhyme
9) Celtic/bluegrass song meets Spring Awakening, which evolves into Folk, vox (& harmonizing vox) and acoustic guitar/soft drum

--Tina Hanae

Track Listing
1. Whispering Light   5. Four Dreams
2. The Kingdom   6. Murder Of Birds
3. Feast Of The Heart   7. Bed Across The Sea
4. Angel Mom   8. Tulip
  9. Hunting My Dress