Dawuni, Rocky / Hymns For The Rebel Soul
Album: Hymns For The Rebel Soul   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Dawuni, Rocky   Added:Jul 2010
Label:Aquarian Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-08-01 Pull Date: 2010-10-03 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Oct 3 Sep 26 Sep 19 Sep 12 Sep 5 Aug 29 Aug 22 Aug 15
Airplays: 1 3 2 3 3 4 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 02, 2010: New World Disorder
4. Sep 23, 2010: Sunshine . . . in the (Morning And) Afternoon
Walls Tumbling Down
2. Sep 25, 2010: New World Disorder
Road To Destiny
5. Sep 18, 2010: New World Disorder
African Reggae Fever
3. Sep 25, 2010: Music Casserole
African Reggae Fever
6. Sep 14, 2010: Abra's BohemianWaves

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2010-07-28
Rocky Dawuni – Hymns for the Rebel Soul
Reviewed by Sadie O., 7/28/10
Roots rock reggae from Africa. The fifth album by the “Ghanian Bob Marley”. He’s apparently been on the cusp of global stardom for the last few albums – who knows, maybe this will be the one. It’s quite commercially produced, but not in an obnoxious way – it’s a bit sweet for my tastes, but pleasant to listen to, and Dawuni sings well and has strong lyrics. No FCCs. I like track 2 and 7 best.
1. 4:41 **brief squeeps and speaking intro, then midtempo mellow bubble w/ high horn fanfares.
2. 4:30 *****starts with gorgeous (long) sample from Ladysmith Black Mambaso, then strong downtempo groove (to the tune of Cherry Oh Baby!) – good sound.
3. 5:04 mellow downtempo smooth groove with wooble sounds, love song.
4. 4:33 **slow swingy percussion, acoustic guitar, between nyahbinghi and samba – mellow, but with serious lyrics.
5. 4:45 ***midtempo afro-jazz groove with female backing vocals, commercial sounding but pleasant.
6. 5:11 ***midtempo relaxed bubble. Bits of falsetto, both male and female backing vocals.
7. 4:15 ****falsetto vocals, stuttering downtempo bubble – interesting sound.
8. 4:40 **acoustic guitar strumming, midtempo folk/nyahbinghi with choir and tinges of Spanish guitar. Very pretty, not quite sure whether it’s all religious or has political overtones.
9. 4:54 **a bit downtempo one-drop/bubble, pop production. Jaunty whistling…
10. 3:55 ***bouncy downtempo bubble with a bit of Motown feel in the falsetto vocals, positivity lyrics.
11. 4:12 *acoustic guitar and finger snaps, sort of an island groove, song about love – pleasant.

Track Listing
1. Download The Revolution   6. Road To Destiny
2. African Reggae Fever   7. Freefall
3. Extraordinary Woman   8. Jerusalem
4. Walls Tumbling Down   9. Walk The Talk
5. Master Plan   10. Head Up High
  11. Take It Slow (Love Love Love)