Brothers Of The Baladi / Just Do What's Right
Album: Just Do What's Right   Collection:World
Artist:Brothers Of The Baladi   Added:Jul 2010

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-01-02 Pull Date: 2011-03-06 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20 Feb 6 Jan 30 Jan 16 Jan 9
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 03, 2011: Mediterraneans
Sidi Mansour
4. Feb 03, 2011: Mediterraneans
2. Feb 24, 2011: Mediterraneans
5. Feb 01, 2011: At the Cafe Bohemian
Sidi Mansour
3. Feb 17, 2011: Mediterraneans
Belly Up
6. Jan 27, 2011: Mediterraneans
Wah Wah

Album Review
Kamla Bhatt
Reviewed 2010-12-12
Brothers of Balladi’s “Just Do What Is Right.”

Brothers of the Balladi's (BOB) is a 30 yr old band from Oregon. They started as a group accompanying belly dancers in Arizona before moving to Oregon. The group plays mixes of Arabic sounds with Western sounds and the result is a potent mix. You can hear Middle Eastern instruments like oud, saz, kanoon, def and riq and of course the signature Arabic percussion sound that is present in every track.

Three of the songs in the album are the group's interpretation of well known songs. They are: Buffalo Springfield’s “For What it's Worth”, Neil Young’s “Rockin in the Free World” and Chris Rea’s “Nothing To Fear,”

Songs are a mix of English, Arabic, French & other languages.


TRY 1, 4, 7, ,8,11,12,15, 6 (NOT FCC CLEAN).

1. Upbeat Funky/mesmerizing Middle Eastern flavored version of Buffalo Springfield’s "For What It's Worth.”
2. Opening notes reminds you of Rachid Taha's “Rock El Casbah.” Social themed lyrics.
3. Slow start & then picks up. Remind you of Boney M's song Ma Baker. Sung in Arabic & English
4. Melodic. Danceable.
5. BOB's version of Chris Rea's "Nothing to Fear."
6.Politically charged song set to a fusion of Middle-Eastern & western music. (NOT FCC CLEAN)
7.Moving love song in English. Listen to the percussion.
8.Slow & melodic.Arabic/French. Reminds you of old Arabic songs,belly dancing,shesha & Turkish coffee.
9.Slow. Almost like a chant.
10.Mid-tempo. Socially conscious lyrics
11.Dance tune. Bellydance anyone?
12.Slow start & picks up tempo like a traditional Arabic song. Mid-tempo.
13.Slow & hypnotic percussion-heavy song.
14. Slow.
15. Heady combo of Arabic sounds with rock & BOB's version of Neil Young's "Rockin' In The Free World.”

Kamla Dec 10, 2010

Track Listing
1. For What It's Worth   8. Wy'ek
2. Just Do What's Right   9. Lyke Wake Dirge
3. Sidi Mansour   10. No Shade
4. Perom Pom Pom   11. Belly Up
5. Nothing To Fear   12. Wah Wah
6. Peace 'n' Love   13. Who Is This?
7. The Next Time   14. Gole Khazan
  15. Rockin' In The Free World