Back Seat Dreamer / Colors Of Dreams, They're In You, The
Album: Colors Of Dreams, They're In You, The   Collection:General
Artist:Back Seat Dreamer   Added:Jul 2010
Label:Stickfigure Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-07-05 Pull Date: 2011-09-04 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21 Aug 14 Jul 31 Jul 24 Jul 17 Jul 10
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 01, 2013: Gurlz Rule
Real Inside You
4. Aug 30, 2011: feelin' the music
Blind Science
2. Sep 29, 2011: Futurebeat Radio
Moment In Time
5. Aug 25, 2011: Summertime Sunshine
Colors In The Night
3. Sep 08, 2011: Futurebeat Radio
Moment In Time
6. Aug 19, 2011: Wee Animalcules
Moment In Time, Moment In Time

Album Review
DJ Joubert
Reviewed 2011-06-23
Awesome funky synths and not-overdone straight beats for an absolutely lovely almost-danceable electronic album! I would listen to this after dancing for sure. The synths are all over the place but in a nice and controlled fashion, and vocals are breathey enough to spill over you. It’s a fairly simple album without much complicated layering, but it has a old-daft-punkey feel to it, without going as hard as disco-house sine the soft vocals keep it in check. The biggest problem of this album is the lack of exploration. The first 5 tracks could become the same track, honestly. Kinda reminds me of Junior Boys. –DJ Joubert

Try: 1,2,6,10,11

1) ***** (4:19, 125bpm) Happy octave-jumping synths over good ol' kick-snare-kick-snare. Very simple IDM-ey electronic, very much amazing!
2) **** (4:30, 128bpm) Ooh, syncopated beats leading to simple synth work. Then slightly sad vocals coming in, with richer bass drum work leading for lots of definition.
3) ** (3:56, 125bpm). Combines track 1 and 2. Busier, punchy synth work adding in layers.
4) *** (3:40, 128bpm, feels like 80bpm). Finally, non-flat synths. Richer, beating LFOs with long-drawn-out chords feels slower and more deliberate. No beats or percussions to get in the way. [MORE ON BACK]

5) ** (4:00, 135bpm) A departure from the identical-sounding previous tracks, since we now have a regular but simple head-bobbing beat. Quickly we fall back into the same vocals as previous.
6) **** (3:20, 128bpm) Drums off a $5 Casio keytar! But the funky piano stabbing is great. Yummy yummy. "dreamer, dreamer" vocals with cool drum roll completes this great track.
7) *** (4:22, 102bpm). Simple but deliberate bass hits, with arpeggiated chords off guitar.
8) *** (6:07, 134bpm) Garbled organ sounds, distored basslines, leading into danceable drum pattern. Goes double-speed half-way though, adding lots of noise!
9) ** (1:58, 80bpm) Confused-sounding vocal hums with finger-picking-guitar is layered over drones. Far-off plucked strings come in half-way.
10) *** (4:57, 135bpm) Starts off with great potential! Nice distorted noisey drums and synth work, giving way to muted agitated drum work.
11) **** (3:22, 118bpm) A built-in drum loop from that $5 Casio is back! Some wooden percussion instruments gets added which gives a very nice African feel to the track, while bass stabs keeps the groove. Rich synths makes for a great track!

Track Listing
1. Moment In Time   6. Real Inside You
2. Dying Dream   7. For Starry Eyes
3. Consider   8. Twilight Valentines
4. Blind Science   9. Hold Me Awake
5. February Flies   10. Gold Dust
  11. Colors In The Night