Ersahin, Ilhan / Istanbul Sessions With Erik Truffaz
Album: Istanbul Sessions With Erik Truffaz   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Ersahin, Ilhan   Added:Jun 2010
Label:Nublu Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-09-26 Pull Date: 2010-11-28 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Nov 28 Nov 21 Nov 14 Nov 7 Oct 31 Oct 17 Oct 3
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 23, 2010: The Musical Mystery Box o' Fun
4. Nov 06, 2010: Music Casserole
2. Nov 20, 2010: Music Casserole
5. Oct 30, 2010: No Cover, No Minimum
Sam I Am
3. Nov 11, 2010: The Musical Mystery Box o' Fun
6. Oct 16, 2010: No Cover, No Minimum (Go Giants!)

Album Review
Kamla Bhatt
Reviewed 2010-09-16
Ilhan Ersahn’s Istanbul Sessions With Erik Truffaz

Free-form jazz riffs that combine various strands of influence
from New York’s East Village to Istanbul. This 4-piece jazz band consists of Ilhan Ersahn (half-Turkish) on saxophone,
Erik Truffaz on trumpet, Alp Ersonmez on bass,
Izzit Kizil on percussion and Turgut Alp Bekoglu on Drums.

Try 1,2 and 8.

1. Freedom: Fast. Love the percussion and bass.
2. Bosphorous: Fast. You can hear & feel a bit of that Turkish
influence in the music. Listen to the rythmic percussion.
3. Door: Slow and languid jam session between saxophone and trumpet.
4. Thomas O Malley: Starts slow and picks up pace & steam .
5. Sam I Am: Fast & rythmic. Love the percussion.
6. Istanbul: Short interlude that captures the flavor of Instanbul with snatches of conversation.
7.Kefal: Alternates between slow & mid-tempo.
8. Les Ottomon: Fast-paced. Nice, round sounds from the trumpet & sax.
9. The Dark Tunnels of Europe: Slow and short piece.
10. Alley Cats: Medium paced and the sounds of trumpet reminds you of a dark, haunted alley.
11. Our Theory: Slow

Kamla 9/11/2010

Track Listing
1. Freedom   6. Downtown Istanbul
2. Bosphorus   7. Kefal
3. Doors To Heaven   8. Les Ottomans
4. Thomas O'malley   9. The Dark Tunnel Of Europe
5. Sam I Am   10. Alley Cats
  11. Our Theory