Katzenjammer / Le Pop
Album: Le Pop   Collection:General
Artist:Katzenjammer   Added:Jun 2010
Label:Nettwerk Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-01-09 Pull Date: 2011-03-13
Week Ending: Mar 13 Feb 13 Feb 6 Jan 30 Jan 23 Jan 16
Airplays: 1 2 1 3 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 26, 2022: Music Casserole
Wading In Deeper
4. Jun 04, 2011: Everyday Commotion
A Bar In Amsterdam
2. Mar 07, 2012: Everyday Commotion
Hey Ho On The Devil's Back
5. Apr 30, 2011: Everyday Commotion
Play My Darling Play
3. Feb 15, 2012: Everyday Commotion
Hey Ho On The Devil's Back
6. Apr 23, 2011: Everyday Commotion
Hey Ho On The Devil's Back

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-12-31
Vaudevillian, carnival, Eastern European gypsy, Celtic, klezmer, with a dash of spaghetti western performed by a group of women who must be a barrel of monkeys at a party. Soaring and dramatic vocals, layered, excellent instrumentation, waltzes aplenty. For fans of Gogol Bordello, Flogging Molly,Tippy Canoe, Charming Hostess, Phantom Limbs, Tom Waits and (yes) Weird Al when he pays homeage to his Serbian descent and pulls out his accordian (and plays Green Day songs). All these songs fill my head with images of clowns chasing monkeys chasing bears chasing cats chasing dogs chasing naked ladies chasing parakeets.

FCC in bonus track 13

1) brief dramatic string intro
2) upbeat galloping vaguely spaghetti western but more gypsy
3) ragtime fun
4) toylike intro, then a lush feeling upbeat pop with halftime vocal phrasing
5) classic western ballad feel, gallop
6) slow vocals/piano/cello ballad, very lovely
7) silly carnivalisms, Weird Al comes to mind
8) instrumental upbeat carnival, I expect a clown to come out and chase a woman a bear a cat and a monkey at any moment
9) slow and sad ballad
10) straight up cutesy pop
11) upbeat bouncing drinking song feel
12) slow waltzing, great lyrics, drunken themes, primo
13) FCC: first 1:35 of this bonus track is exceedingly quiet with periods of dead air, then a great honkey tonk follows that has an FCC or two (“this shit is getting old”)

Track Listing
1. Overture   7. Le Pop
2. A Bar In Amsterdam   8. Der Kapitan
3. Demon Kitty Rag   9. Virginia Clemm
4. Tea With Cinnamon   10. Play My Darling Play
5. Hey Ho On The Devil's Back   11. To The Sea
6. Wading In Deeper   12. Mother Superior