Rosen, Nick / Into The Sky
Album: Into The Sky   Collection:General
Artist:Rosen, Nick   Added:Jun 2010
Label:Porter Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-08-15 Pull Date: 2010-10-17
Week Ending: Oct 17 Oct 10 Oct 3 Aug 22
Airplays: 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 16, 2010: lost and found
Nature's Breath
4. Sep 30, 2010: A Time of Sound and Space with Bug
Mindy's Song
2. Oct 09, 2010: lost and found
Mindy's Song
5. Sep 26, 2010: the velvet futon
Twin Harbors, Ancestral Echoes
3. Oct 09, 2010: Music Casserole
6. Aug 19, 2010: orangeasm
Nature's Breath

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2010-08-08
Porter Records gives us an LA composer who’s assembled a varied cast of well honed musicians playing tracks with a decidedly jazz feel in the realm of west coast mellowness but with rock/pop sentiments. Mostly instrumentals, but a few tracks with vocals (one a duet with Mia Doi Todd). Definitely mellow, approaching 70’s fern bar coke party music. Fans of Vince Guaraldi, Stan Getz, Alice Coltrane will like.

1) lush piano intro to mid paced smarmy slightly proggy jazz flavored orchestrated something or other, the piano playing is very harp’ish (hence the Alice Coltrane refs.)
2) upbeat and happy music, Vince Guaralidi comes to mind
3) more upbeat melodic, cinematic soundtrack to a happy person picking flowers on a manhatten street
4) Mia Doi Todd duets with Nick on vocals for this dreamy slow waltz, mellow
5) mellow and bouncy
6) very mellow guitar/upright bass based dreaminess
7) obvious comparison to Alice Coltrane because of the swirling harp and down tempo jazziness with bassoon
8) dark plod with guitar and dual vocals
9) harp and vibes, a slow mellow stroll
10) midpaced mellowness
11) huh? An upbeat slightly western piece with Nick’s vocals, guitar based

Track Listing
1. Ancestral Echoes   6. Nature's Breath
2. Twin Harbors   7. In Her Smile
3. Manya   8. For People
4. Mindy's Song   9. Rainfall
5. Blossoming Song   10. African Sun
  11. Winter Into Spring