Fm Belfast / How To Make Friends
Album: How To Make Friends   Collection:General
Artist:Fm Belfast   Added:Jun 2010
Label:Kimi Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-10-03 Pull Date: 2010-12-05 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Oct 31 Oct 24 Oct 17 Oct 10
Airplays: 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 05, 2010: the seductardation
4. Oct 13, 2010: panic
2. Oct 29, 2010: The Knife
5. Oct 08, 2010: Everyday Commotion
3. Oct 21, 2010: Abra's Airwaves
6. Oct 07, 2010: Hipster Garbage

Album Review
george lu
Reviewed 2011-01-06
FM Belfast - How to Make Friends
Icelandic synth-pop duo's debut album. It's dance-y and varied. There's lo-fi, 8bit, punk, freak folk and more. The electronics mostly work, but they can sound thin at times. A list of similar artists would be mostly pointless as there are different parts of Hot Chip, MGMT, Chromeo, Royksopp, Kraftwerk, Daft Punk and more in every track. The lyrics are light and nonsensical. I recommend 10 for catchy pop, 2 for new wave, and 5 for an interesting dance track.

1. 3:49 repetitive but catchy pop with a strong, glitch-y beat.
2.* 3:09 relatively soft and melodic, very very New Wave
3. 3:33 bouncy pop beat with deep, languid vocals. It's almost a copy of Chromeo's Momma's Boy
4. 3:09 freak-folk vocals with a wall (of sound) of synths
5.* 2:42 lo-fi dance track. very slow, sparse, and simple electronics. a quiet dance track
6. 3:16 it's the single. bouncy, afro-reggae influenced accents and percussion
7. 2:52 synth punk. it's very similar to track #1 and in the context of the album, feels redundant
8. FCC
9. 3:21 aggressive synth-punk (Crystal Castles or maybe Nine Inch Nails style)
10.* 3:14 brightest, bounciest pop on the album. trumpets. EASILY the best track
11. 3:45 Call and response style. Daft punk meets Ting tings. A few lines of rap thrown in at 2:30

George Lu

Track Listing
1. Frequency   6. Par Avion
2. Underwear   7. Vhs
3. I Can Feel Love   8. Lotus
4. Tropical   9. Optical
5. Pump   10. Synthia
  11. President