Dylan, Jakob / Women + Country
Album: Women + Country   Collection:General
Artist:Dylan, Jakob   Added:May 2010
Label:Columbia Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2010-09-05 Pull Date: 2010-11-07
Week Ending: Nov 7 Oct 31 Oct 24 Oct 17 Oct 10 Oct 3 Sep 26 Sep 19
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 4 5 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 14, 2016: Road Trip
Everybodies Hurting
4. Jun 27, 2014: The Songsmith Show
We Don't Live Here Anymore
2. Aug 08, 2014: The Songsmith Show
Holy Rollers For Love
5. Jun 13, 2014: The Songsmith Show
They've Trapped Us Boys
3. Jul 25, 2014: The Songsmith Show
Nothing But The Whole Wide World
6. Apr 23, 2014: Funk to Folk
Standing Eight Count

Album Review
MC Dizzy Jackson
Reviewed 2010-08-30
Forget about The Wallflowers. (Ok, maybe you already have.) This is the real deal. Jakob Dylan has teamed up with legendary producer T-Bone Burnett and created one of the best albums in years. Yeah, that’s right. Writing about loss of love, loss of country, God, Katrina references, and boxing references, Dylan’s lyrics are poignant, biting, revelatory and real. I urge you to read them. The music is what you’d expect from a Burnett-produced album: full of ethereal, dreamy, spacey yet focused aural pleasures. Musicians include Marc Ribot (Tom Waits sideman) on guitar, Greg Leisz on pedal steel, Neko Case on backing vocals. Don’t let the slower-paced songs deter you - each one of these songs is a gem. No FCC’s.

My favorites: All.

1. (3:48) Slow / Mid. Simple brushes on the drums and pedal steel yield a beautiful number.
2. (3:41) Slow / Mid. The haunting duo of Ribot’s guitar and Leisz’s pedal steel mesh with Dylan’s heavy lyrics.
3. (3:49) Mid. Jazzy blues co-exist with references about hurricane Katrina and how to help.
4. (4:24) Slow / Mid. The absence of life in the country, a loss of innocence backed by banjo, fiddle and pedal steel.
5. (3:40) Mid. Acoustic bass, horns and drums evidence the title of the song - a hurt.
6. (4:01) Slow / Mid. Spacey keyboard / pedal steel intro leads to a nice, quiet drum beat and a bit of blues.
7. (3:56) Mid. ‘Something sinister’s got you the minute you open the door’ is all you need to know about this number.
8. (3:35) Mid. Catchy even though Dylan uses the cliched title to build a song around; it still works well.
9. (4:02) Mid. / Fast. Killer instrumentation, esp. the mandolin, support this great song about mining and life.
10. (4:00) Slow. ‘My arms are useless if they don’t have you’ - embedded in a great verse. About love lost, quiet, thoughtful and perfect.
11. (3:57) Mid / Fast. Horns intro lead to a fairly rocking tune. The metaphor of boxing and the sea is for a doomed love.

Track Listing
1. Nothing But The Whole Wide World   6. Yonder Come The Blues
2. Down On Our Own Shield   7. Holy Rollers For Love
3. Lend A Hand   8. Truth For A Truth
4. We Don't Live Here Anymore   9. They've Trapped Us Boys
5. Everybodies Hurting   10. Smile When You Call Me That
  11. Standing Eight Count